Old 05-04-2020, 08:28 PM
Aurorae (Sara)

The Full Beginners Package

Hey, I am new to astrophotography and I am keen on beginning the journey. I am interested in planets and the moon for now, nebulae if possible. My budget for all the equipment (mount and scope) is around $1K - something that will enable me to hit the ground running and getting some shots in it. This would include attaching my camera or, if necessary, recommendations on the best camera for taking photos.

I was going to peruse other forum questions, but because things are always changing, I thought I will just throw it out there to get the best tips.

PS - where can you get second hand stuff from? Maybe someone is upgrading to a better system and has equipment for sale?
Old 07-04-2020, 08:22 AM
Aurorae (Sara)

Okay, let me try this again.

Would you guys think that the Celestron Atromaster 130EQ is good to start the journey into astrophotography? I am a complete amateur and don't want to spend in excess of 1K, hoping to take good photos of the moon, planets and if poss, nebulae but only for learning and not because I want to move toward becoming an expert. If I like it enough, then maybe I will spend more later.

Here is a list that was given to me, what do you think?

https://www.digitalcameraworld.com/b...trophotography
Old 07-04-2020, 08:53 AM
Startrek (Martin)

Sara
Do you already own a DSLR camera ?
If so, the most cost effective way to get into entry level astrophotography on a budget is with the Skywatcher Star Adventurer Pro kit. These are equatorial mini mounts capable of carrying DSLRs with lens up to 300mm focal length and can track the night sky with great accuracy
They are battery operated and very very portable, a great way to get started
Skywatcher Star Adventurer Pro Kit. $699
Skywatcher Star Adventurer Tripod $169
Total $868
The next level ( low cost ) after this would be a small Newtonian reflector 130mm to 150mm on an EQ5 mount ??