ANZAC Day
Go Back   IceInSpace > Beginners Start Here > Beginners Talk
Register FAQ Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 18-09-2015, 09:24 PM
gigglebottom (Gavin)
Rocket Rider

A short intro

Hi,

This feels a bit like a blind date.... especially with the clouds that have just rolled in here in Katoomba, NSW.

This is my first post to simply say "hello". Been browsing this fine forum a while. Lots of great info and shared knowledge. Thanks to all.

I picked up a Celestron 130SLT real cheap a few weeks ago and after several nights of sheer wonder, even with the mag 5 shakes this thing possesses, I am hooked! Now I am looking to fit an ethos to this rig , light the fuse and wave to the ISS as I pass it by. Yes, I know..., but I am star struck and the sky is the limit.

I have heard a rumour of star parties that happen on occasion at the old airfield in Katoomba and these may be organized by a member of this fine forum. Can anyone share some insight into these? I am a complete newb, but hey I have to ask questions of someone right?

Again thanks for all the great info. Looking forward to sharing some more wonder in the bright star lit future.

Gav
Old 18-09-2015, 10:08 PM
Somnium (Aidan)
Aidan

welcome to the hobby and the boards. it certainly sounds like you have been bitten by the astronomy bug. I look forward to seeing you post your progress and observations
Old 18-09-2015, 10:44 PM
raymo

Hi Gavin, and welcome from me. You can improve the stability of
your 130 SLT by suspending a weight [say 4 or 5kg] under the tripod.
raymo
Old 19-09-2015, 08:25 AM
gigglebottom (Gavin)
Rocket Rider

Thanks for the welcome.

Thanks Aidan and Raymo.