Go Back   IceInSpace > Beginners Start Here > Beginners Talk
Register FAQ Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 22-08-2015, 08:28 AM
mobbie (Andreas)

Smile Hello from Rowville, Vic

Hello All,

Awesome forums here, been doing quite a bit of reading over the last few weeks and keen to jump in feet first!

I recently had my two children (one 8 and the other 5) both get very interested in understanding and looking at the sky at night. So after many weeks of research I finally purchased a 10" Dobsonion Saxon Telescope which I absolutely love already.

I'm a keen photographer as well and looking forward to getting some great photographs of things in the sky! (I posted a question regarding this in another section)

Couple of questions,
  1. I found Saturn and could see the rings etc quite well, but it was very small in the 9mm and 25mm lens I used. I tried the different sizes, barlow etc as well but still found that I could see the planet and the main parts of the rings but no features (such as the gap between the rings). How do I get closer and more detail?
  2. Also what do I need to do to start seeing/finding nebula's and other awesome things?

I'm thinking that trying these things in the backyard is a start, but I do need to find a good dark site!
Old 22-08-2015, 11:41 AM
Blue Skies (Jacquie)
It's about time

Quote:
Originally Posted by mobbie View Post
  1. I found Saturn and could see the rings etc quite well, but it was very small in the 9mm and 25mm lens I used. I tried the different sizes, barlow etc as well but still found that I could see the planet and the main parts of the rings but no features (such as the gap between the rings). How do I get closer and more detail?