Old 07-02-2011, 10:26 AM
PRejto (Peter)

Using HEQ5 Pro for Guiding...

OK, I'm really new to the idea of trying to guide while imaging, but I've read a fair amount on various forums. I'd like to guide using the following equipment (and not purchase something like the Orion Guider);

Toucam PVCV840K/00
PHD
HEQ5PRO
Guide scope: Trying to locate a AT65EQD (not easy to find) or use my SW100ED and image from the AT65EQD.

Called Bintel and they said I would need a GPUSB box and cable to create ST4 compatibility between the mount and computer.

PHD seems to recognize the Toucam...

Is there anything else I need in terms of drivers or software?

Thanks for any further tips/suggestions.

Last edited by PRejto; 07-02-2011 at 03:01 PM.
Old 07-02-2011, 10:49 AM
Screwdriverone (Chris)
I have detailed files....

Hi Peter,

I am trying to do the same but am baulking at a QHY5 with a guide scope. When I tried to use my 5" reflector mounted piggyback on the 8" reflector, the drive made some bad noises as the set up was too heavy for the gears at full horizontal extension (tube and counterweights horizontal) so I decided to ditch the guidescope idea and keep as light as possible on the HEQ5 pro.

I have successfully mounted my toucam onto the 50mm finder (dodgily) by removing the cross hair bit at the back and mounting the toucam to the back of the finder. (read double sided tape and elastic band) This is just proof of concept at the moment, I will mount this properly if I can get good guide star exposure and find them easily....

My plan is to run both the Canon 1000D and the toucam guiding via Maxim DL5 which can handle both cams and guide through the Eqmod pulse guiding interface, so there is no need to use a GPUSB to convert back to ST4 compatible instructions on the guide port.

I have yet to test this set up, but it is all assembled and waiting for a clear (and COOOL!) night for me to give it a burl.