#1  
Old 09-11-2007, 01:45 AM
bluescope's Avatar
bluescope
I've got a Sirius eye !

bluescope is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Country W.A.
Posts: 1,587
Self Guiding Problem

I have just acquired a ST2000XCM as some of you may know. The problem I am having is that when I have the guiding cable attached to my EQ6 Pro mount the hand controller ceases to function, in fact it freezes until I unplug the cable again.

Is this normal ? ( I doubt it )

Any tips would be helpful !

Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-11-2007, 02:47 AM
jase (Jason)
Registered User

jase is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Melbourne, Victoria
Posts: 3,916
Sounds strange. I don't have much knowledge of the relay inputs for the EQ6. You may need a relay box;
www.sbig.com/pdffiles/relay_box_instructions.pdf
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-11-2007, 04:53 AM
gbeal
Registered User

gbeal is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 4,299
Can't help with the hand controller, mine (AP400GTO) doesn't though.
Even if it does, can you move the scope via the "Move" or slew commands in whatever program you are using to control the camera (what are you using). If you can perhaps just try that. Maybe post on the SBIG group as well.
Gary
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-11-2007, 07:24 AM
Dennis
Dazzled by the Cosmos.

Dennis is offline
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Brisbane
Posts: 10,873
Hi Steve

Is the cable wired correctly for the hand controller? Each different manufacturer’s hand controller seems to require a custom wiring configuration for it to operate correctly with the SBIG camera.

If the ħRA, Ground and ħDEC signals are going to the wrong pins you could get the behaviour you describe?

Cheers

Dennis
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-11-2007, 07:40 AM
[1ponders]'s Avatar
[1ponders] (Paul)
Retired, damn no pension

[1ponders] is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Obi Obi, Qld
Posts: 18,778
I could be way out in left field here as I haven' tried self guiding yet with my ST 7, but don't you run your guiding from the camera to your laptop via the USB and then back to the mount via serial? Rather than directly from the camera to the mount via the mount port on the camera. I know some mounts you can run direct from the RS232 port of the camera to the RJ12 port of the mount but I didn't think the EQ6 was one of them. I thought the guide chips signals normally come down the USB cable along with the imaging chip signals. That way it should be USB>laptop>serial cable to mount.

Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 09-11-2007, 08:37 AM
rogerg's Avatar
rogerg (Roger)
Registered User

rogerg is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Perth, Western Australia
Posts: 4,540
Quote:
Originally Posted by [1ponders] View Post
I could be way out in left field here as I haven' tried self guiding yet with my ST 7, but don't you run your guiding from the camera to your laptop via the USB and then back to the mount via serial?
No - normally you would connect the camera's guider port directly to the telescope mount's guider port. But it does probably depend on the type of mount.

I'm always confused by what's ST4 compatible and what's not. My first thought was similar to that of jase - you might need a relay box. I'm quite sure that if I put my ST7 on to my Losmandy GM-8, I would need a relay box.

Roger.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 09-11-2007, 08:46 AM
[1ponders]'s Avatar
[1ponders] (Paul)
Retired, damn no pension

[1ponders] is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Obi Obi, Qld
Posts: 18,778
Quote:
normally you would connect the camera's guider port directly to the telescope mount's guider port.
This is something I don't understand Roger. If you connect the camera guideport directly to the telescope guide port how do you get feedback to your laptop that autoguiding is actually working?
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 09-11-2007, 08:52 AM
Dennis
Dazzled by the Cosmos.

Dennis is offline
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Brisbane
Posts: 10,873
Quote:
Originally Posted by [1ponders] View Post
This is something I don't understand Roger. If you connect the camera guideport directly to the telescope guide port how do you get feedback to your laptop that autoguiding is actually working?
Hi Paul
  • My (older parallel) ST7E has a 25 way parallel cable that connects to the PC.
  • The auto guider cable connects directly from the ST7E to my Tak mount, or GDPX mount.
  • The ST7 communicates with the PC via the parallel cable, so that is how the PC connection is achieved for CCDSoft.
  • In your case, it would be via the more modern (green with envy) USB.
Cheers

Dennis
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 09-11-2007, 09:00 AM
rogerg's Avatar
rogerg (Roger)
Registered User

rogerg is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Perth, Western Australia
Posts: 4,540
Yeah, what Dennis said Especially the green with envy bit


darn 10 second image download times....
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 09-11-2007, 09:04 AM
JohnG's Avatar
JohnG (John)
Looking Down From Above

JohnG is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Cootamundra, NSW
Posts: 1,698
Quote:
Originally Posted by [1ponders] View Post
This is something I don't understand Roger. If you connect the camera guideport directly to the telescope guide port how do you get feedback to your laptop that autoguiding is actually working?
On my Q-Guider, the guide cable comes from the ST-4 outlet on the rear of the guider, direct to the Autoguider Port on the Gemini, a USB2 cable provides the power and connection to the Laptop, the autoguiding software (PHD) is supplied by that cable.

Cheers
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 09-11-2007, 09:22 AM
[1ponders]'s Avatar
[1ponders] (Paul)
Retired, damn no pension

[1ponders] is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Obi Obi, Qld
Posts: 18,778
Ahhhhhh...I see now. Thanks guys. You can read the manual from front to cover and think you understand it, but it's not until you come on here that you really get the help you need. Well fingers crossed for a fine night tonight and I'll get out and give it a go.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 09-11-2007, 10:53 AM
gbeal
Registered User

gbeal is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 4,299
Stay left field. Camera direct to the mount, with the supplied cable.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 09-11-2007, 10:57 AM
[1ponders]'s Avatar
[1ponders] (Paul)
Retired, damn no pension

[1ponders] is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Obi Obi, Qld
Posts: 18,778
Ahh but what if you want to connect it to a StarMate Gary I'll need a 232 adapter to go on the end of the SBIG cable then. Or should I just plug straight into a Shoestring adapter and then into the Digital drive handcontroller port?
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 09-11-2007, 11:37 AM
gbeal
Registered User

gbeal is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 4,299
Cripes, not sure, but whatever the answer is, the question is too hard. When I use the SBIG, I don't use the StarMate. I only use this when I am using the 20D, which is very rarely. BUT......... I think Robber was going to use his via the Mate, so maybe ask him.
Honestly though, the simplest method is to have the SBIG on the imaging scope, and use the built in guide chip as well. That way you have only one scope and camera on the mount, plus only a power cable, a USB cable (sorry Dennis and Roger), plus the RJ11 cable running from the camera.
Self guide works as good or better that I ever had with the ToUcam and Mate.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 09-11-2007, 11:39 AM
[1ponders]'s Avatar
[1ponders] (Paul)
Retired, damn no pension

[1ponders] is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Obi Obi, Qld
Posts: 18,778
Well fingers crossed for a clear sky tonight and I'll give it a go.
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 09-11-2007, 12:04 PM
bluescope's Avatar
bluescope
I've got a Sirius eye !

bluescope is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Country W.A.
Posts: 1,587
It seems like I have stirred up a bit of a wasps nest with this question.

It says in the manual that the cable should be from the camera to the autoguide socket on the mount. As far as I can recollect the manual for the EQ6 says that it is ST4 compatible, which should be fine.

Thanks for all the replies to this thread, I'll check out suggestions etc tonight. As you can imagine it is driving me nuts because I really need to extend my exposure times to get better results.

Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 09-11-2007, 12:46 PM
rogerg's Avatar
rogerg (Roger)
Registered User

rogerg is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Perth, Western Australia
Posts: 4,540
Steve:

It is possible isolate the problem more. It is possible to use a multi-metre to check if the guider signals are coming out of the camera correctly. That then tells you if it's the camera at fault or the mount at fault.

However I suspect it's more likely the mount is at fault than the camera. Are there firmare updates for the mount at all? or any reported issues with the autoguider port I wonder?

Quote:
Originally Posted by gbeal View Post
a USB cable (sorry Dennis and Roger)
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 09-11-2007, 07:27 PM
jase (Jason)
Registered User

jase is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Melbourne, Victoria
Posts: 3,916
"Note, the HEQ5 and EQ6 Synscan mounts are plug and play ready for autoguiding with SBIG imaging cameras and autoguiders using the standard cable supplied with the SBIG product." - http://www.skywatchertelescope.net/s...14&class2=1406

So it sounds like a technical issue compared to an incompatibility. I believe the EQ6 uses the LX200 command set.
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 09-11-2007, 09:19 PM
bluescope's Avatar
bluescope
I've got a Sirius eye !

bluescope is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Country W.A.
Posts: 1,587
Hi Roger

I am using the latest v3.12 firmware for the mount and don't know of any auto guiding issues.

cheers


Steve




Quote:
Originally Posted by rogerg View Post
Steve:

It is possible isolate the problem more. It is possible to use a multi-metre to check if the guider signals are coming out of the camera correctly. That then tells you if it's the camera at fault or the mount at fault.

However I suspect it's more likely the mount is at fault than the camera. Are there firmare updates for the mount at all? or any reported issues with the autoguider port I wonder?



Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 09-11-2007, 09:22 PM
bluescope's Avatar
bluescope
I've got a Sirius eye !

bluescope is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Country W.A.
Posts: 1,587
I think you are right Jase, I'm currently looking for my EQ6 manual to check things further but I seem to remember that it does use the LX200 command set and that it is compatible with SBIG cameras as you say.
Maybe I am setting things up incorrectly, I'll keep at it and report when I have success or complete failure.

Thanks

Steve




Quote:
Originally Posted by jase View Post
"Note, the HEQ5 and EQ6 Synscan mounts are plug and play ready for autoguiding with SBIG imaging cameras and autoguiders using the standard cable supplied with the SBIG product." - http://www.skywatchertelescope.net/s...14&class2=1406

So it sounds like a technical issue compared to an incompatibility. I believe the EQ6 uses the LX200 command set.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +10. The time is now 02:52 AM.

Powered by vBulletin Version 3.8.7 | Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Advertisement
NexDome Observatories
Advertisement
Celestron Australia
Advertisement
SkyWatcher Australia
Advertisement
Bintel
Advertisement
Meade Australia
Advertisement
Lunatico Astronomical
Advertisement
OzScopes Authorised Dealer
Advertisement
Astronomy and Electronics Centre
Advertisement