#1  
Old 08-11-2007, 02:31 PM
programmer's Avatar
programmer
Computer tragic

programmer is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Cheltenham, Victoria
Posts: 494
ToUCam+laptop=no-go, & serial-to-USB

Hi all,

Two questions..

I've just bought a new laptop (Acer Aspire 5315 w/Vista) partially for use with my ToUCam 900nc. Being at work I don't have all the software (e.g. Philips "VLounge"), but I downloaded the Vista drivers. They installed ok, but when I plug in the cam, it doesn't come up. It's recognised by Windows (i.e. in device manager) but the tray icon still has an 'X' on it, and My Computer doesn't register it. It worked fine on my XP desktop (haven't tried it at home on Vista yet). Has anyone had success with a similar setup? Is it a driver issue, or the cam not getting enough power from the USB ports (I've tried all 3 USB 2.0 ports)?

Secondly, my new laptop doesn't have a serial port (I've just stopped kicking myself), so I can't directly run my David Ek DSC's.. I've seen serial-to-usb adapters for sale overseas, and I know there are issues with some not working with the DSC. Question is, are there any locally available adapters that are known to work? I'm in Melbourne, but if I have to source from interstate I will.

Thanks in advance!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-11-2007, 03:12 PM
Stephen65's Avatar
Stephen65
Registered User

Stephen65 is offline
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 358
I run the 900NC from my laptop without power problems.

I use K3CCDTools to run the camera, maybe try downloading that (it comes with 35 day free trial) and see if that works? That might help you isolate the problem.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-11-2007, 03:21 PM
iceman's Avatar
iceman (Mike)
Sir Post a Lot!

iceman is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Gosford, NSW, Australia
Posts: 36,709
I know of some people that had problems getting the ToUcam to run on vista - something to do with the drivers.

I think it was Astroman (Andrew).
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-11-2007, 03:37 PM
programmer's Avatar
programmer
Computer tragic

programmer is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Cheltenham, Victoria
Posts: 494
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stephen65 View Post
I run the 900NC from my laptop without power problems.

I use K3CCDTools to run the camera, maybe try downloading that (it comes with 35 day free trial) and see if that works? That might help you isolate the problem.
Was that under Vista, and also what laptop?

I've installed K3CCDTools. I ran it before plugging in the cam, and it said 'no imaging device' or similar, as I'd expect. I then exited, plugged in the cam and re-started K3CCDTools. I didn't get any error message, but neither can I see any video feed. Thanks for the idea though, I'll play with it tonight.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-11-2007, 03:41 PM
programmer's Avatar
programmer
Computer tragic

programmer is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Cheltenham, Victoria
Posts: 494
Quote:
Originally Posted by iceman View Post
I know of some people that had problems getting the ToUcam to run on vista - something to do with the drivers.

I think it was Astroman (Andrew).
Thanks for the info. That's a bugger considering they are Vista drivers.

EDIT: Have had some success! I've installed Philips VLounge software and I can see the video feed through it, so at least I know it does work. Now to work out why I can't see it in K3CCDTools.

Last edited by programmer; 08-11-2007 at 05:35 PM. Reason: update
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08-11-2007, 05:47 PM
ballaratdragons's Avatar
ballaratdragons (Ken)
The 'DRAGON MAN'

ballaratdragons is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In the Dark at Snake Valley, Victoria
Posts: 14,412
If K3 won't load in Vista, just use the Philips Vlounge. It works fine. I only ever use Vlounge for Avi's and Desire for Long Exposures. I tried K3 and it's too confusing for me, but if you want to use K3, keep persisting.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 08-11-2007, 06:33 PM
Astroman's Avatar
Astroman (Andrew Wall)
<><><><>

Astroman is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Paralowie, South Australia
Posts: 4,348
Vlounge wont run under vista, well not with the 840K anyway. The drivers I used were for the 840K not the 900NC
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 08-11-2007, 09:30 PM
programmer's Avatar
programmer
Computer tragic

programmer is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Cheltenham, Victoria
Posts: 494
Quote:
Originally Posted by ballaratdragons View Post
If K3 won't load in Vista, just use the Philips Vlounge. It works fine. I only ever use Vlounge for Avi's and Desire for Long Exposures. I tried K3 and it's too confusing for me, but if you want to use K3, keep persisting.
Yes, I think there's no way I can learn K3 on the spot tonight, I'll just be wasting clear sky time. Good idea, will stick with with VLounge for tonight.

Astroman: I do have VLounge running on Vista on my laptop and was seeing video through the ToUCam, so lucked out there. Also had K3 working but now it seems to be unable to detect the camera (can't choose it from the list). Will try again another time.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 11-11-2007, 01:12 AM
IanL
Registered User

IanL is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Brisbane
Posts: 306
This may or may not help but worth a try. If you right click on the .EXE file that you are trying to run. You should see in the list properties and once in that you will see compatibility. Try running the program compatibility in XP opposed to vista.


Ian
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +10. The time is now 09:56 AM.

Powered by vBulletin Version 3.8.7 | Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Advertisement
Bintel
Advertisement
OzScopes Authorised Dealer
Advertisement
Lunatico Astronomical
Advertisement
NexDome Observatories
Advertisement
Meade Australia
Advertisement
Celestron Australia
Advertisement
SkyWatcher Australia
Advertisement
Astronomy and Electronics Centre
Advertisement