Go Back   IceInSpace > Beginners Start Here > Beginners Astrophotography

Old 14-11-2017, 09:54 AM
AaronZajonc

experienced landscape, total beginner deep field

Hi IIS members,

I'm sure this question has been asked many times before but haven't found the thread just yet.

I'm quite experienced with astro-landscape photography and i'm interested in taking the next step to connect a camera to a scope.

What are the essential pieces involved and what kind of price would I be looking at? (My friend has a Saxon 1021 EQ3 - 102mm)

Feel free to add links from other threads rather than re-writing.

Thanks in advance.

Images below for aesthetic purposes.
Attached Thumbnails
Click for full-size image (Aaron Zajonc Composite.jpg)
203.5 KB124 views
Click for full-size image (Aaron_Zajonc_Lonely_Tree_Panorama_Monument_Valley.jpg)
113.0 KB103 views
Old 14-11-2017, 10:08 AM
that_guy (Tony)
Local Korean Millennial

The lightest duty mount you'd need for AP is an HEQ5Pro, simply because none of the lighter mounts have the capacity to autoguide (Without modification). That Saxon eq3 mount will be wobbly at best for long exposures, not sure if it has a mount drive, some dont.
Old 14-11-2017, 10:22 AM
doppler (Rick)

A good tracking mount is mandatory, I agree with Tony that a HEQ5 pro ($700 s/h or $1200 new) is a good starting mount. You can use any mount that has a motor drive but lower end mounts are harder to work with. As for telescopes shorter focal length scopes are easier to set up and control without expensive add on accessories. Many would say a ED 80 refractor is the easiest starter scope. If you are more keen, a 8" f5 newtonian will be better for capturing more deep space objects.
Old 14-11-2017, 11:11 AM
Imme (Jon)

I may have a HEQPro-5 coming up for sale in the very near future...1 hour north of Melbourne.