Go Back   IceInSpace > Equipment > Astrophotography and Imaging Equipment and Discussions

Old 01-11-2009, 10:17 AM
synthguy (Malcolm)
Malcolm Davis, Canberra,

What's best for an absolute beginner in astro-imaging

Hi,

What are my best options for a first start in astro-imaging. At the moment, I'm looking at either a Sky Watcher HEQ-5 Pro or a Celestron CGEM Mount, initially using a 102mm ED Apo Refractor at f7. Is it better to use a dedicated CCD camera, a video system such as GSTAR, or a DSLR (which one is best?)?

Further down the track I'd be looking to upgrade the OTA to a Celestron 9.25" SCT, or a Vixen VC-200L VISAC Cassegrain, using the same mount. How would that affect my choices in terms of which is the best astro-imaging approach.

I'd initially be focused on the Moon and planets, to gain some experience, before trying DSOs.

Many thanks,

Malcolm
Old 01-11-2009, 10:42 AM
Kal (Andrew)
1ผ" ๑์ฎvๅ๑แ

I think you are better off with an EQ6-PRO. It is ~$1200 cheaper than the CGEM, and a nice step up from the HEQ-5 PRO mount. It will have spare capacity as you will likely need to factor in imaging scope, guide scope, camera, and guide camera weights into the equation.

As for camera you can save alot of money as a beginner based on what you already own. Do you have a laptop or DSLR already?
Old 01-11-2009, 10:53 AM
synthguy (Malcolm)
Malcolm Davis, Canberra,

Hi Andrew,

I'm starting from scratch in this regard. Right at the moment, I've got a 14" Orion Optics UK f4.5 dob, which is purely a visual instrument. I've also got a 4" Skywatcher Apo on a Vixen Porta Mount, and a Orion Telescope and Binocular ED-80 Apo on a Televue Gibraltar mount. My thinking was to use either the ED-80 or the Skywatcher 4" Apo as my initial Imaging scope, on an GOTO appropriate mount, and then upgrade to a larger OTA later to spread the cost a bit.

Would the EQ6-Pro be manageable in terms of setting up in a backyard situation? I hear that it is pretty hefty in terms of weight.