Old 05-03-2018, 07:35 PM
Gnat (Natalie)

pier

I am wanting to build a roll away observatory and want a permanent pier so I can have the scope ready to use after I push the shed away from the scope. Unfortunately my budget cannot even entertain the idea of a commercially made observatory. I have a Meade 10inch LXD55 SN. I was wondering is there a guideline to the diameter of the pier and the depth of the pier needed to support the telescope? From many hours of looking, I know there are manufactured steel piers or you can pour your own pier. As you can tell, I am a complete noob, but am finally biting the bullet. Any advice is appreciated, redirections to sites, links etc or suppliers of ready made piers.
Thanks for your time.
Old 05-03-2018, 07:48 PM
JA

One of our members manufactures piers....

http://www.iceinspace.com.au/forum/s...d.php?t=160441

There may also be others here, not sure.

Best
JA
Old 05-03-2018, 07:51 PM
glend (Glen)

I poured my footing and pier, using wet on wet concrete with reo through the pier and footing, and its not going anywhere - would survive a nuclear strike. If your working to a budget a concrete pier is very cost effective. The mass of the footing is fairly important, mine is 750mm x 750mm x 650mm deep with the pier concrete held by a tube form set on the footing last pour. You can do all of this using concrete you mix on site if you have the gear to mix it completely and to a standard consistency. In bed three stainless J bolts in the top of the pier to bolt your gear on. Its physically hard work but sometumes digging that hole can be the hardest part. I dug mine by hand but a backhoe would save you alot of time but costs money.
Old 05-03-2018, 08:14 PM
Gnat (Natalie)

Thanks JA
I found Pegasus Piers on Facebook and have sent a message.

Glen,
Thanks for the info on the concrete pour. How big is your scope on that pier? What was the diameter of the pier form?
Old 06-03-2018, 05:53 AM
AstroApprentice (Jason)