Old 02-02-2017, 12:47 PM
Andy01 (Andy)
My God it's full of stars

Mosaics?

Hi Folks,

I'm just starting out on my first mosaic, and looking for suggestions, tips & tricks on the process to make tricolour NB images of large objects.
For my first go I've attempted a nice bright target ie: Eta Carina, and this is just two panels on my SV70T, with rough post-processing only.

I tried Photomerge in PS 2017 but it aligned my 3 NB file sets out of register.

Then I found Sara Wager's tutorial and using MSICE very helpful and easy.

What's best, do you merge the files prior to stretching? If so in what format do you load them in the package?

All input welcome, thanks in advance

Cheers
Andy
Attached Thumbnails
Click for full-size image (S2HaO3_iis.jpg)
197.6 KB45 views

Last edited by Andy01; 02-02-2017 at 12:49 PM. Reason: typos
Old 02-02-2017, 01:09 PM
Atmos (Colin)
Ultimate Noob

Mosaicing pre-stretching, PixInsight does that quite well.
Firstly you mosaic register the two of them together, then you register the individual images against the mosaic image which creates the individual images within the larger mosaic region. The you get those larger images use a script called something like GradientMergeMosaic or something.

I personally have been doing a quick process on each panel and then stitch them together using AutopanoGiga and then finish the processing.
Old 03-02-2017, 10:08 PM
SimmoW (SIMON)
Farting Nebulae

Timely thread Andy, i have a 4 panel mosaic of the M42 region in my long processing queue.

So Colin, PI can mosaic all the images BEFORE stretching and other processes? Wow if so.

But if not, or for users without such magic, how do you consistently apply adjustments? Even a minor difference would look bad. Or does everyone apply PS etc adjustments at the new larger image scale, say 12000 piels by 9000?
Old 03-02-2017, 10:25 PM
Atmos (Colin)
Ultimate Noob

Quote:
Originally Posted by SimmoW View Post