Most Read Articles
Moon Phase
CURRENT MOON Waxing Crescent
The Sun Now
Time Zones
1:27 pm
10:27 am
3:27 pm
New York*
10:27 pm
3:27 am
2:27 am

Go Back   IceInSpace > Equipment > Software and Computers

Thread Tools Rate Thread
Old 20-04-2017, 01:30 PM
bojan's Avatar

bojan is online now
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Mt Waverley, VIC
Posts: 5,047
Windows 7 Pro upgrade from Home premium

There is someone on ebay selling license for w'7 Pro for $25.
Price seems right, but is this genuine?

Also, I do not want to do "clean" install, I want to keep already installed applications -there are quite a few, accumulated in the course of last 5-6 years on my laptop.

How to do it?
Reply With Quote
Old 20-04-2017, 02:12 PM
04Stefan07's Avatar
04Stefan07 (Stefan)
Make it so! - Capt.Picard

04Stefan07 is offline
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 1,855
You can upgrade from 7 to 10 for free still, why don't you do that?

Any reason you need Pro? The only real advantage with Pro is that it gives you the ability to join the computer to a domain (which is only used in businesses).
Reply With Quote
Old 20-04-2017, 02:24 PM
bojan's Avatar

bojan is online now
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Mt Waverley, VIC
Posts: 5,047
Hi Stefan,
I don't want w'10...
Pro is needed because I can't install Autocad (and some other apps) on Home premium edition.
Reply With Quote
Old 20-04-2017, 03:39 PM
Registered User

astro744 is offline
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 687
Before Windows 10 the procedure was that you would run Windows anytime upgrade and either buy a new key code from Microsoft or you could buy a key code from a retailer and just enter the new key when Windows anytime upgrade asks you to. Windows will then unlock the Pro features, reboot and you then have the same installation as before but now it is Windows 7 Pro. All applications and data remains unchanged. The entire procedure takes 10 minutes.

How do you know if the code being sold has not already been activated? I guess it will cost you $25 to find out. Note there is no reversal unless you make a full disk backup if after you upgrade you get a message saying this copy of Windows is not genuine.

I would think if the code has been activated it won't activate again but it may if it isn't being used anywhere else. No different to you reinstalling on a different machine because of hardware failure but your original licence may need to be a retail pack rather that an OEM pack.

Licenses are managed differently with 10 but I'm like you and want to keep 7 Pro as some of my hardware won't work under 10. I tried it and went back. I always recommend the Pro version whether you need the features right away or not as one day you just may. I wish 7 Pro was still available too for a new install but I understand 10 is now needed to support some of the newer mainboards and graphics cards.
Reply With Quote
Old 20-04-2017, 04:39 PM
Exfso's Avatar
Exfso (Peter)
Registered User

Exfso is online now
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Adelaide
Posts: 1,439
Personally I would be very wary of this one, seems very cheap. Old saying if it seems too good to be true etc etc. probably applies here.
Reply With Quote
Old 22-04-2017, 07:17 PM
Tandum's Avatar
Tandum (Robin)
Registered User

Tandum is offline
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Carindale, Brisbane.
Posts: 4,087
I'm paying $191 for win 7 pro 64bit from a wholesaler.

$25 sounds pretty good to me
Reply With Quote


Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT +10. The time is now 12:27 PM.

Powered by vBulletin Version 3.8.7 | Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
FLI Cameras and Imaging Accessories
Lunatico Astronomical
SkyWatcher WiFi Adaptor
Atik Horizon
SkyWatcher 2018 Catalogue
OzScopes Authorised Dealer
NexDome Observatories
Interest Free Finance
Astronomy and Electronics Centre