#1  
Old 19-10-2018, 01:21 PM
garymck (Gary)
Registered User

garymck is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Geelong
Posts: 664
Good usbhub choice?

Hi,
have tried a number of low end usb2/3 hubs and found issues, especially when mixing usb2/3 devices.

Has anyone come across a reliable USB3 hub that "just works" with both USB2 and 3 devices and doesn't create issues. At the moment I have 4 usb cables running to my laptop because I can't find a hub that works with all of them. Note that all of the hubs I've tried are powered. Assume it won't be $30 at MSY :-)

cheers
Gary
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 19-10-2018, 01:31 PM
DJScotty's Avatar
DJScotty (Scott)
Registered User

DJScotty is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Brisbane
Posts: 677
May I ask what are the issues you have experienced?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 19-10-2018, 01:32 PM
Imme (Jon)
Registered User

Imme is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: Kyneton
Posts: 574
Mine hasn't missed a BEAT (mind the pun)

https://www.catch.com.au/product/usb...nt=Electronics
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 19-10-2018, 01:50 PM
garymck (Gary)
Registered User

garymck is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Geelong
Posts: 664
Quote:
Originally Posted by DJScotty View Post
May I ask what are the issues you have experienced?
My rotator won't work through a hub, and my QHYCFW2 also won't work through a hub, even though the hubs are powered it appears they are not supplying enough power. They both work fine when connected directly to my laptop.

Gary
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 19-10-2018, 02:16 PM
Marke's Avatar
Marke (Mark)
Registered User

Marke is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Sydney
Posts: 1,193
I can highly recommend STARTECH industrial style USB hubs . Can run on DC 7-48v and designed for all types of conditions and very reliable just not cheap . Get it in USB3 and then you are covered for future use.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 19-10-2018, 03:07 PM
darrellx's Avatar
darrellx (Darrell)
Registered User

darrellx is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Gold Coast, Queensland
Posts: 278
+1 for the MBeat. I run two USB 2 devices (Camera and Filterwheel) and a USB 3 camera or two, along with a 5meter USB3 Active Extension Cable with no problems. (BUT I could not get my old ASI120 to work with it. Actually, I couldn't get the camera to work with any USB hub!)
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 19-10-2018, 03:35 PM
Marke's Avatar
Marke (Mark)
Registered User

Marke is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Sydney
Posts: 1,193
I have 3 cameras , mount , 2 focusers and 5m cable to PC all working no issues . The startech powers each port individually and they are isolated.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 19-10-2018, 03:44 PM
glend (Glen)
Registered User

glend is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 5,200
I have used the MBeat for years, no problems, and it attaches easily to my pier with Velcro.

This one:

https://www.ple.com.au/Products/6156...le-Powered-Hub
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 19-10-2018, 05:07 PM
garymck (Gary)
Registered User

garymck is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Geelong
Posts: 664
Hi,

Bought the MBeat at local MSY for $26.00. Everything connected first time. Have the hub connected to PC via a 5m powered lead. Very happy, and much cheaper than I expected. Thanks for the suggestions!

cheers
Gary
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 19-10-2018, 10:52 PM
Exfso's Avatar
Exfso (Peter)
Registered User

Exfso is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Adelaide
Posts: 1,606
I have 2 of these, they are built like a brick dunny and always work, cannot fault mine.


https://www.catch.com.au/product/ori...CABEgLebvD_BwE
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 20-10-2018, 06:53 AM
Merlin66's Avatar
Merlin66 (Ken)
Spectroscopy Wizard

Merlin66 is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: St Leonards, Vic
Posts: 6,773
The BEAT hub looks interesting, but a 3A supply looks a little light when you consider the power hungry Astro stuff we use...
Interestingly the spec sheet doesn’t mention Win10 compatibility.

Last edited by Merlin66; 20-10-2018 at 12:23 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 20-10-2018, 11:17 AM
Stonius's Avatar
Stonius (Markus)
Registered User

Stonius is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 922
I replaced the mains supply with a 12v inverter on mine. It has worked fine for me so far.

M
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 21-10-2018, 02:29 PM
Slawomir's Avatar
Slawomir (Suavi)
Amateur Photon Collector

Slawomir is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Proserpine
Posts: 2,781
Might be a bit random observation, but while browsing NASA's website I came across an image of the Lyman-Alpha Mapping Project instrument that was placed on-board the LRO - no sign of any usbs there!
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 21-10-2018, 03:44 PM
Joshua Bunn's Avatar
Joshua Bunn (Joshua)
Registered User

Joshua Bunn is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Albany, Western Australia
Posts: 1,074
+1 for the MBeat, USB2 and USB3
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 21-10-2018, 03:57 PM
Zuts
Registered User

Zuts is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: sydney
Posts: 1,424
Quote:
Originally Posted by Slawomir View Post
Might be a bit random observation, but while browsing NASA's website I came across an image of the Lyman-Alpha Mapping Project instrument that was placed on-board the LRO - no sign of any usbs there!
When only the best will do, (I think they are gold connectors?)
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 21-10-2018, 04:20 PM
RickS's Avatar
RickS (Rick)
PI cult recruiter

RickS is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Brisbane
Posts: 10,581
Quote:
Originally Posted by Merlin66 View Post
The BEAT hub looks interesting, but a 3A supply looks a little light when you consider the power hungry Astro stuff we use...
I wouldn't try running the power hungry stuff, like Peltier coolers, off USB power. The most you're likely to get from USB3 is 4.5 watts unless you have ports with some of the more exotic extensions to the spec (unlikely on an inexpensive device.)

I'm also a fan of the Startech hubs. The big advantage for me is that they will run off the 13.8V supply like everything else and don't need a separate 5V supply.

Cheers,
Rick.
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 21-10-2018, 06:06 PM
redbeard's Avatar
redbeard (Damien)
Registered User

redbeard is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Adelaide
Posts: 410
Hang on, that IS the USB hub! Connections are on the other side!


Quote:
Originally Posted by Slawomir View Post
Might be a bit random observation, but while browsing NASA's website I came across an image of the Lyman-Alpha Mapping Project instrument that was placed on-board the LRO - no sign of any usbs there!
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 21-10-2018, 06:28 PM
multiweb's Avatar
multiweb (Marc)
ze frogginator

multiweb is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Hinchinbrook
Posts: 17,832
Quote:
Originally Posted by Slawomir View Post
Might be a bit random observation, but while browsing NASA's website I came across an image of the Lyman-Alpha Mapping Project instrument that was placed on-board the LRO - no sign of any usbs there!
Pretty cool how they deal with vibrations I assume, mounting the electronics base on those looped cables.
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 21-10-2018, 08:58 PM
gregbradley's Avatar
gregbradley
Registered User

gregbradley is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Sydney
Posts: 15,106
Belkin USB hubs are what I have been using after going through a number of them and they were all unreliable.

A 4 USB hub that is powered (if the lead is more than arbitrarily 2 metres it needs to be powered) costs around $35 on ebay. They are also quite small, light and compact.

I have a few I use, all reliable.

USB leads over 5 metres also may need to be powered to be reliable.

Greg.
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 22-10-2018, 11:22 AM
sil's Avatar
sil (Steve)
Not even a speck of dust

sil is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Canberra
Posts: 1,285
Orinco ones have been solid and reliable for me. but like optics the more parts you add in the chain the more loss and opportunities for problems. There are power hubs which ONLY supply usb power and not for data of any sort, these are good for phone/tablet power and especially fans and diy electrics where devices themselves can create "noise" and send it back to the everything else in the hub chain. Camera try to keep directly connected to best usb port on computer (test by doing a set capture, eg 2min. and see what the frame rate is and frame loss. do for each usb port as sometimes the internal ports are really an internal hub ) and dont change ports you use.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +10. The time is now 11:20 AM.

Powered by vBulletin Version 3.8.7 | Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Advertisement
Celestron Australia
Advertisement
Bintel
Advertisement
NexDome Observatories
Advertisement
Lunatico Astronomical
Advertisement
Meade Australia
Advertisement
OzScopes Authorised Dealer
Advertisement
SkyWatcher Australia
Advertisement
Astronomy and Electronics Centre
Advertisement