#41  
Old 02-02-2010, 10:13 PM
AdrianF's Avatar
AdrianF (Adrian)
Currently Scopeless

AdrianF is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Yarraman Qld
Posts: 1,770
I have just completed my power supply exept mounting it it a box. I have set the output to 7.4v (same as the battery) through a 10 turn 10k pot. I have noticed that some of you have set the volts to 8.1 is there an advantage to do this?

Adrian
Reply With Quote
  #42  
Old 02-02-2010, 10:43 PM
mill's Avatar
mill (Martin)
sword collector

mill is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Mount Evelyn
Posts: 2,922
The battery just charged is 8.1V and the camera sees this as a full battery.
You can try 7.4V and slowly turn the voltage up and see when it becomes reliable.
Reply With Quote
  #43  
Old 03-02-2010, 01:38 AM
TrevorW
Registered User

TrevorW is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 6,995
I know with mine the 350d prefers the higher voltage
Reply With Quote
  #44  
Old 08-02-2010, 07:08 PM
wasyoungonce's Avatar
wasyoungonce (Brendan)
Certified Village Idiot

wasyoungonce is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Mexico city (Melb), Australia
Posts: 2,311
Well I finally got my DR-E5 DC Battery adaptor for my 450D.

Well errr it was not what I was expecting. It's designed for an AC input to convert to DC and is really part of the Canon ACK-E5 camera power kit.

I wanted just a battery adaptor I could put use with my own DC supply. I didn't want the AC/DC converter in the camera as it creates heat.

So...I am an Idiot.

Sigh...I just ordered qty 2 cheap LP-E5 replacement batteries from fleabay. I'll pull them apart to use in lieu.

So...have a laugh at my expense... but save some up as I'm sure to display more stupidity in the future.
Reply With Quote
  #45  
Old 08-02-2010, 07:46 PM
mill's Avatar
mill (Martin)
sword collector

mill is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Mount Evelyn
Posts: 2,922
See post #38, last line
Reply With Quote
  #46  
Old 08-02-2010, 07:55 PM
wasyoungonce's Avatar
wasyoungonce (Brendan)
Certified Village Idiot

wasyoungonce is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Mexico city (Melb), Australia
Posts: 2,311
Quote:
Originally Posted by mill View Post
See post #38, last line
Yep bring it on...I'm like a rabbit fixated in a cars headlights...struck dumb!..or is that dumb struck!
Reply With Quote
  #47  
Old 23-02-2010, 01:56 PM
wasyoungonce's Avatar
wasyoungonce (Brendan)
Certified Village Idiot

wasyoungonce is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Mexico city (Melb), Australia
Posts: 2,311
Well I finally got my batteries to pull apart. I am going to use this with my 8.1V PSU....but just a question to others.

Did you remove the battery or just solder PSU leads onto the terminals & leave the battery in place?

I suspect "remove the battery"...but I don't see any harm in leaving it in apart from maybe upsetting the switchmode PSU as a capacitive load.

Anyone?

Edit:

Ugh..I should have been more clear...I mean remove the battery from the casing or leave it in.

Last edited by wasyoungonce; 23-02-2010 at 02:17 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #48  
Old 23-02-2010, 05:15 PM
mill's Avatar
mill (Martin)
sword collector

mill is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Mount Evelyn
Posts: 2,922
Duhhhh!! Take them out and loose some weight (no pun intended ).
Also, batteries heat up the camera and with this constant charging even more heat and maybe leaking.
Soooo be done with it and take the things out together with the small circuit board and solder straight on the pins, remember + on + and - on -
Reply With Quote
  #49  
Old 23-02-2010, 05:38 PM
wasyoungonce's Avatar
wasyoungonce (Brendan)
Certified Village Idiot

wasyoungonce is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Mexico city (Melb), Australia
Posts: 2,311
Yeh ..I was leaning to taking them out for heat & as they may upset the swithmode cct. And...after a few years the battery will detoriate in capacity which will probably play havoc.

But the plus side is that leaving it in may also smooth the PSU, at least while the battery is good.

Anyway..."it's out with it then"!

And what do you mean "loose weight"...cannot you tell...I've been on a diet for the last 15 years...haven't lost anything yet though!

Thanks Martin.
Reply With Quote
  #50  
Old 23-02-2010, 06:21 PM
mill's Avatar
mill (Martin)
sword collector

mill is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Mount Evelyn
Posts: 2,922
Weight??? Ooohhh i mean Gravity
Reply With Quote
  #51  
Old 24-02-2010, 12:22 PM
wasyoungonce's Avatar
wasyoungonce (Brendan)
Certified Village Idiot

wasyoungonce is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Mexico city (Melb), Australia
Posts: 2,311
It lives!

Final finishing hook-up went well. Here's my 1st pic with the 8.1V remote PSU for the 450D.

The only issue is that it gives a "Battery Low" warning. When I took apart the battery I noticed a battery monitoring cct (middle pin). This cct monitors 1/2 the battery voltage. It draws voltage from one of the 2 internal cells.

I suspect that I could use a resistor to supply this "monitor cct"..but Meh! It works without it.
Attached Thumbnails
Click for full-size image (battey warn small.jpg)
35.9 KB58 views
Click for full-size image (IMG_4123 small.jpg)
76.9 KB46 views
Reply With Quote
  #52  
Old 24-03-2012, 07:59 PM
crystalsinger's Avatar
crystalsinger
Registered User

crystalsinger is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Canberra, Australia
Posts: 4
Question Maximum safe voltage to run a Canon EOS 400D?

Hi folks,

I found this thread when searching for info on the maximum voltage on which it's safe to run a Canon EOS 400D...

I've hooked up the 'fake' battery from a (non-functioning) AC-DC adapter to a 12V - 12V DC adapter (cigarette lighter plug into jump-starter battery pack on one end to standard DC plug/socket on the other). The DC-DC adapter I have supports (among others) 7.5V and 9V. If I run the 400D on 7.5V I get a low-battery warning and no function. If I run it briefly to test on 9V everything works perfectly - but I'm concerned about damaging the camera if I use it for prolonged exposures/cycles (e.g. 4 - 6hrs of 25s exposures with 2s between each exposure for startrails, etc.).

Does anyone have any solid data on what the maximum safe voltage is?


Many thanks,

Jessica
Reply With Quote
  #53  
Old 23-05-2012, 03:22 AM
Nishandh (Nishandh)
Registered User

Nishandh is offline
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Kerala, India
Posts: 1
Thumbs up

Looks like the resources by DanielMcCauley, provided in comment#10 is shifted to here : http://www.easternvoltageresearch.co...equipmods.html

Thankyou everybody for the help !
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +10. The time is now 04:36 AM.

Powered by vBulletin Version 3.8.7 | Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Advertisement
Lunatico Astronomical
Advertisement
Meade Australia
Advertisement
OzScopes Authorised Dealer
Advertisement
NexDome Observatories
Advertisement
Celestron Australia
Advertisement
Bintel
Advertisement
SkyWatcher Australia
Advertisement
Astronomy and Electronics Centre
Advertisement