ICEINSPACE
Most Read Articles
Moon Phase
CURRENT MOON Waning Gibbous
83.1%
The Sun Now
Time Zones
Sydney*
2:53 pm
Perth
11:53 am
Auckland*
4:53 pm
New York
10:53 pm
Paris
4:53 am
GMT
3:53 am




Go Back   IceInSpace > Beginners Start Here > Beginners Equipment Discussions

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1  
Old 05-08-2018, 08:31 PM
astrowoody (Steve)
Registered User

astrowoody is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Location: Blaxland
Posts: 4
Manual slewing using the Synscan on an heq5

I have just purchased a new heq5 and I am having fun learning to aligning the scope. Regardless of the alignment can you use the direction keys to manually adjust the mounts position, if so how?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-08-2018, 07:51 AM
Merlin66's Avatar
Merlin66 (Ken)
Spectroscopy Wizard

Merlin66 is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: St Leonards, Vic
Posts: 6,629
Steve,
Basically yes, the handcontroller directional arrows will move the mount.
The speed of the slew is set by #2 Key and then any other #. I find #5 is good for finding and #2 for fine setting.

It's all in the Synscan manual which should be with the mount.....
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-08-2018, 01:47 PM
astrowoody (Steve)
Registered User

astrowoody is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Location: Blaxland
Posts: 4
Thanks for the reply
Here's the problem. I aligned the mount successfully, I sent the mount to a planet and then I couldn't get it to move from that spot.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-08-2018, 02:02 PM
Merlin66's Avatar
Merlin66 (Ken)
Spectroscopy Wizard

Merlin66 is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: St Leonards, Vic
Posts: 6,629
Hmm
What's showing on the hand controller display when it "freezes"
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-08-2018, 03:46 PM
astrowoody (Steve)
Registered User

astrowoody is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Location: Blaxland
Posts: 4
Thanks
Good question. If I remember, it showed the co-ordinates it went to but if I pressed the direction buttons to adjust the position nothing happened. I will check that next time I set it up.
By the way when I say "aligned the mount successfully" the display said "alignment successful". I didn't get the visual alignment that accurately. I need more practice at that. That said I thought it would be adjustable to some degree.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +10. The time is now 01:53 PM.

Powered by vBulletin Version 3.8.7 | Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Advertisement
OzScopes Authorised Dealer
Advertisement
Bintel
Advertisement
FLI Cameras and Imaging Accessories
Advertisement
SkyWatcher 2018 Catalogue
Advertisement
Lunatico Astronomical
Advertisement
Interest Free Finance
Advertisement
NexDome Observatories
Advertisement
SkyWatcher WiFi Adaptor
Advertisement
Astronomy and Electronics Centre
Advertisement