#1  
Old 17-04-2006, 11:44 AM
iceman's Avatar
iceman (Mike)
Sir Post a Lot!

iceman is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Gosford, NSW, Australia
Posts: 36,709
Resolution and print size

Hi all.

The 350D takes pictures with resolution of 3456 x 2304. When I took some shots to get printed the other day, at a standard size of 8" x 10", I had to either crop out part of the photo, or if I didn't crop, it reduced it so there was about 1.5-2cm of white space at the top and bottom of the 8 x 10" print.

Is there a better way to work this out before-hand? I either need to work out what print size does not require cropping (and buy a photo frame that fits that), or work out what size to crop it to before I take it to the camera shop.

Most frames come in standard sizes (8x10" for example), and unless you get a custom frame made up for your resolution (which could work out expensive), I don't see any other options.

Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 18-04-2006, 01:19 AM
Jonathan
Registered User

Jonathan is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 442
300dpi is the standard Mike, but you can go lower and still get a good print. I think the problem you had is that 8x10 is out of proportion to your original image that is 3x2 or 6x4 or 12x8 not 10x8.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 18-04-2006, 01:31 AM
C.
Registered User

C. is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: South Australia
Posts: 34
Hello Mike
To get around it you can use an A4 frame with a small overmat so you only lose a small amount round the edges. If you prefer 8x10 you need to leave a bit of space for cropping when you are lining up your shots. After a while you do it automatically.

You can also try cropping in your graphics program with the crop ratio set to 4:5 (to suit 8x10) so you can play around with the image before you get it printed.
Cheers
Carol
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 18-04-2006, 06:21 AM
iceman's Avatar
iceman (Mike)
Sir Post a Lot!

iceman is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Gosford, NSW, Australia
Posts: 36,709
Many thanks for the replies..

At least I know what to look for in frame size now, based on the proportions of my full resolution shot.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 18-04-2006, 06:36 AM
h0ughy's Avatar
h0ughy (David)
DOGHOUSE REBORN

h0ughy is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: NEWCASTLE NSW Australia
Posts: 30,660
Mike for the SPSP my images were printed on 8 * 12 and I didn't crop a single thing. that was using the 300D and the Pentax *istDS. so with yours it should still fit the mould of that size.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 18-04-2006, 06:49 AM
iceman's Avatar
iceman (Mike)
Sir Post a Lot!

iceman is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Gosford, NSW, Australia
Posts: 36,709
yeh 8x12 is the correct size for my resolution. I'll have to avoid 8x10 frames if I don't want to crop.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +10. The time is now 02:42 PM.

Powered by vBulletin Version 3.8.7 | Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Advertisement
Bintel
Advertisement
NexDome Observatories
Advertisement
Lunatico Astronomical
Advertisement
Meade Australia
Advertisement
Celestron Australia
Advertisement
SkyWatcher Australia
Advertisement
OzScopes Authorised Dealer
Advertisement
Astronomy and Electronics Centre
Advertisement