#1  
Old 18-06-2012, 06:20 PM
seeker372011's Avatar
seeker372011 (Narayan)
6EQUJ5

seeker372011 is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Sydney
Posts: 3,531
How to make a solar mosaic with CS2

I have seen tutorials on how to make a solar mosaic using Photoshop CS5, but I only have CS2

Is there some technique that I can use?

I have multiple frames with heaps of overlap and can't seem to get rid of the joints

Thanks in advance format suggestions

Narayan
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 19-06-2012, 02:32 PM
multiweb's Avatar
multiweb (Marc)
ze frogginator

multiweb is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Hinchinbrook
Posts: 18,182
Quote:
Originally Posted by seeker372011 View Post
I have seen tutorials on how to make a solar mosaic using Photoshop CS5, but I only have CS2

Is there some technique that I can use?

I have multiple frames with heaps of overlap and can't seem to get rid of the joints

Thanks in advance format suggestions

Narayan
I'd be interested to see that as well. I know how to do it for DSOs so I will try with solar. If it works I'll upload a how-to for everybody to check.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 20-06-2012, 05:33 PM
Paul Haese's Avatar
Paul Haese
Registered User

Paul Haese is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Adelaide
Posts: 9,403
I am not sure but I have CS3 so you might have the same thing in CS2

Once you get all your panels overlaid using difference and the nudge function then highlight all panels except for the background panel and then go edit/autoblend layers. That will get you started. For panel adjustment try making all the panels as close to the same illumination via levels.

For a more invisible seam then each panel needs to have the edge erased with the rubber tool and use a blur brush.

If you do all this it might come out right.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 20-06-2012, 08:24 PM
seeker372011's Avatar
seeker372011 (Narayan)
6EQUJ5

seeker372011 is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Sydney
Posts: 3,531
Thanks Paul
I'll give it a go
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 21-06-2012, 06:49 PM
seeker372011's Avatar
seeker372011 (Narayan)
6EQUJ5

seeker372011 is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Sydney
Posts: 3,531
Nope

CS2 doesnt have that autoblend function
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 21-06-2012, 08:48 PM
Paul Haese's Avatar
Paul Haese
Registered User

Paul Haese is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Adelaide
Posts: 9,403
Quote:
Originally Posted by seeker372011 View Post
Nope

CS2 doesnt have that autoblend function

Sorry about that. Any chance of being able to upgrade?
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 29-06-2012, 08:51 AM
markuslebt (Mark)
Registered User

markuslebt is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: karlsruhe, germany
Posts: 11
gimp does the job

hello there...

i took sunspot images with my webcam today first time, and decided to make a sun mosaic. u can see it in my latest thread (i only have 5 posts so far at this forum). if u are proficient with gimp or photoshop all you need is single pictures, make a huge canvas like 3333x3333pixel. then add all your single images as separate layers.then create a ring mask and paint out the ringmask with the brush or pen tool about 10pixel thick. now you can align all your images in a ringlike fashion. u will quickly get a catch of it. in the end zoom in 300x and snugly fit all edges to one another. DONE. dont forget to save as TIFF. compression free data !!
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 29-06-2012, 10:24 AM
Meru's Avatar
Meru (Michael)
More stars please!

Meru is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Vic
Posts: 560
If there's no autoblend, a simple trick can be to set the top layer you are trying to blend to 50% opacity and select 'difference' in the layering method. As soon as your stars line up, they'll go black, and reveal where else they are out of alignment (This will only occur if your photos have field rotation from poor polar alignment).

Once you've done this make a masking layer and selecting the brush tool, set the hardness to like 30% and slowly blend the two images together. I've personally struggled with getting proper panoramas even in CS5 simply because of vignetting and creates uneven gradients in the final image where you blend.

Good luck!
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 29-06-2012, 08:13 PM
seeker372011's Avatar
seeker372011 (Narayan)
6EQUJ5

seeker372011 is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Sydney
Posts: 3,531
Quote:
Originally Posted by Paul Haese View Post
Sorry about that. Any chance of being able to upgrade?
I am going to get my daughter who is in Uni to get a student version of CS5..will wait till CS6 is released, the prove of CS5 should come down a bit
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 29-06-2012, 08:19 PM
seeker372011's Avatar
seeker372011 (Narayan)
6EQUJ5

seeker372011 is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Sydney
Posts: 3,531
Quote:
Originally Posted by Meru View Post
If there's no autoblend, a simple trick can be to set the top layer you are trying to blend to 50% opacity and select 'difference' in the layering method. As soon as your stars line up, they'll go black, and reveal where else they are out of alignment (This will only occur if your photos have field rotation from poor polar alignment).

Once you've done this make a masking layer and selecting the brush tool, set the hardness to like 30% and slowly blend the two images together. I've personally struggled with getting proper panoramas even in CS5 simply because of vignetting and creates uneven gradients in the final image where you blend.

Good luck!
No stars in a solar image. I have the frames perfectly aligned though...it's the join marks that are my problem...and yes the brightness is ridiculous in how much it varies given the imaging camera setting never changed through the session


I'll try your technique and see if it helps. Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 29-06-2012, 09:56 PM
Paul Haese's Avatar
Paul Haese
Registered User

Paul Haese is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Adelaide
Posts: 9,403
Quote:
Originally Posted by seeker372011 View Post
I am going to get my daughter who is in Uni to get a student version of CS5..will wait till CS6 is released, the prove of CS5 should come down a bit
I have CS6 now. Must have been released recently as I upgraded from CS3 to CS6. Looks pretty good so far.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +10. The time is now 11:30 PM.

Powered by vBulletin Version 3.8.7 | Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Advertisement
Lunatico Astronomical
Advertisement
Celestron Australia
Advertisement
NexDome Observatories
Advertisement
Meade Australia
Advertisement
Bintel
Advertisement
OzScopes Authorised Dealer
Advertisement
SkyWatcher Australia
Advertisement
Astronomy and Electronics Centre
Advertisement