Go Back   IceInSpace > Equipment > Equipment Discussions

Old 22-02-2020, 11:41 AM
carneb (Barry)

Skywatcher Evostar 150ED Deluxe version worth the extra?

There seem to be some good discounts on the 150ED at the moment and I'm thinking of upgrading from my Evostar 80ED.

There seems to be plenty of reviews online of the standard version, but not the deluxe version. The 150ED standard focuser looks the same as the 80ED focuser so I have experience with that. The deluxe focuser is I believe the same as on the Esprit which I have no experience with, and reading reviews of the Esprit it seems some people are happy with it and others upgrade the focuser. Is it worth the extra money to get the better focuser and tube rings?
Old 22-02-2020, 12:35 PM
casstony

On the basic version the focuser is fine for visual use but the 2" drawtube and limited backfocus is restrictive for imaging. The Vixen style dovetail bar is not strong enough to hold the scope steady and needs to be changes for a wider bar.

If you only intend to use the scope visually get the basic version and upgrade the dovetail bar.
If you intend to image as well the DX version has a much better focuser along with the better rings/dovetail.

Note that the 150ED isn't designed for imaging and stars will bloat somewhat with broadband imaging, but it still does a reasonable job for the casual imager.
Old 22-02-2020, 04:27 PM
glend (Glen)