ICEINSPACE
Most Read Articles
Moon Phase
CURRENT MOON Waxing Crescent
8%
The Sun Now
Time Zones
Sydney*
4:33 pm
Perth
1:33 pm
Auckland*
6:33 pm
New York
12:33 am
Paris
6:33 am
GMT
5:33 am




Go Back   IceInSpace > Beginners Start Here > Beginners Astrophotography

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1  
Old 12-10-2018, 06:52 PM
Gavin1234
Registered User

Gavin1234 is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: Sydney
Posts: 183
HDR multiscale transformation question

Hi everyone.
I’m have a problem with my Orion core. I’ve taken mostly 300 sec subs plus 20x 10 sec, and 20 x 30. Stacked all 3 groups into 3 stacks registered them, done a very gentle stretch and now I’m trying to do a HDR multiscale transformation to fix the blown core. Unusually this works for me but at the moment I get a bad result no matter how many layers I do.

Anything less than 10 layers gives me a ver rough dug out looking core (see first attachment)
11 or higher blows it out even more (see 2nd attachment).

I’ve tried 2 through to 16 layers masked and unmasked. Any tips?
Attached Thumbnails
Click for full-size image (45940A39-AAEC-4FE5-92CE-DC79E77626AB.jpeg)
80.6 KB30 views
Click for full-size image (13B1C659-9EBD-4DB5-AB2B-B101AE4C86F2.jpeg)
58.4 KB26 views
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-10-2018, 08:16 PM
Karlzburg (Karl)
Luke, I'm not your father

Karlzburg is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Location: Mudgee, NSW
Posts: 192
Star tools has a section to combat blown out cores, maybe play with contrast and brightness on selected area.
See you using photoshop?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-10-2018, 08:17 PM
Karlzburg (Karl)
Luke, I'm not your father

Karlzburg is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Location: Mudgee, NSW
Posts: 192
Longer exposures from my experience will blow the core out big time.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-10-2018, 08:29 PM
silv's Avatar
silv (Annette)
Registered User

silv is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Germany 54°N
Posts: 1,069
In your last thread you also posted an image of stacked 300secs Orion with an immensely blown out core. http://www.iceinspace.com.au/forum/s...53#post1399153
Someone then suggested you do shorter subs.

So, in order to test your improved, i.e. shortened imaging procedure, you could now try and stack only the shorter subs you took and see what results you get. Leave out the ones with 300seconds from a few days ago.

edit: Would you like to post a single 5 mins frame?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-10-2018, 08:57 PM
RickS's Avatar
RickS (Rick)
PI cult recruiter

RickS is online now
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Brisbane
Posts: 10,432
To cope with the very large dynamic range of this area you should integrate the subs of different durations separately and then combine with HDRComposition.

Cheers,
Rick.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12-10-2018, 09:48 PM
Gavin1234
Registered User

Gavin1234 is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: Sydney
Posts: 183
Thanks guys I probably didn’t explain my workflow very well.

Using PixInsight.
I took 20 x 10 sec subs then stacked those together.
I also tool 20 x 30 sec subs then stacked them.
Finally approximately 50 x 300 sec subs stacked.

So I ended up with 3 images. Then I aligned the 3 images using my 300 sec stack as the reference. Then I did a HDR composition to combine the three into one. Unstretched I can see the core very well so the data is definitely there.

So then a did a very gentle stretch and ran the HDR multiscale transformation but it just isn’t working for me no matter how many layers I use. Funny thing is, I’ve used this procedure before and it has worked but this time around and on one other previous occasion it’s not working. It even worked on one iteration of this image where I messed up the colour. I'm almost certain I'm doing everything up to the HDR MT the same way.


Edit: These pictures might help explain.

The first is the un-stretched core from the stack of 10 sec images, before I did the HDR composition.


The second is the unstretched core from the composite.


The third is my first iteration which is way over processed. I was basically just messing around at this point and didn't save a copy in between the HDR MST working and me completely messing it up.


The fourth is the version Im working on now which is getting close to the colour and detail I want but for some reason I cant get the core right this time around.


Ive started from scratch a few times and tried the HDR MST at different points in the process. Just cant get it working. I think Im probably missing something simple but cant figure it out.

I am planning to reduce my exposure times but in Sydney at the moment its been nothing but cloud and it will be that way for a long time so I just want to process the data I already have while I wait.
Attached Thumbnails
Click for full-size image (10 sec core fb.jpg)
2.7 KB22 views
Click for full-size image (composite core fb.jpg)
6.2 KB20 views
Click for full-size image (overprocessed with core fb.jpg)
189.9 KB35 views
Click for full-size image (right colour wrong core fb.jpg)
169.9 KB28 views

Last edited by Gavin1234; 12-10-2018 at 10:16 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 13-10-2018, 07:24 PM
Gavin1234
Registered User

Gavin1234 is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: Sydney
Posts: 183
Finally sorted it out.

Rick kindly used my data on his pc but couldn’t replicate it.

I still don’t know what caused the problem but thanks to a tip from Rick I rebooted my PC and reset PixInsight holding CTRL and pressing R. When I started it back up it worked straight away on default settings.

Still working on my image but I thought I’d write this in case anyone else ever has the same problem and reads this.

Sadly there’s been too much done to my current image for it to work on that so I need to start again.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 13-10-2018, 07:35 PM
silv's Avatar
silv (Annette)
Registered User

silv is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Germany 54°N
Posts: 1,069
Quote:
reset PixInsight holding CTRL and pressing R. When I started it back up it worked straight away on default settings.

... I thought I’d write this in case anyone else ever has the same problem and reads this.
So true. I wish every user who got something working again would post the solution which solved their problem. Thank you.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 14-10-2018, 07:08 AM
RickS's Avatar
RickS (Rick)
PI cult recruiter

RickS is online now
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Brisbane
Posts: 10,432
I'm glad we got it sorted out, Gavin!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +10. The time is now 03:33 PM.

Powered by vBulletin Version 3.8.7 | Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Advertisement
SkyWatcher WiFi Adaptor
Advertisement
Lunatico Astronomical
Advertisement
OzScopes Authorised Dealer
Advertisement
SkyWatcher 2018 Catalogue
Advertisement
NexDome Observatories
Advertisement
Atik Horizon
Advertisement
Interest Free Finance
Advertisement
FLI Cameras and Imaging Accessories
Advertisement
Bintel
Advertisement
Astronomy and Electronics Centre
Advertisement