ICEINSPACE
Most Read Articles
Moon Phase
CURRENT MOON Waxing Crescent
22%
The Sun Now
Time Zones
Sydney*
1:51 am
Perth
10:51 pm
Auckland*
3:51 am
New York
9:51 am
Paris
3:51 pm
GMT
2:51 pm




  #1  
Old 31-08-2017, 05:39 PM
geolindon (Lindon)
Registered User

geolindon is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: BUNDABERG QLD AUSTRALIA
Posts: 215
(3122) Florence

Bright asteroid up n about right now in Aqr.

Northern Hemisphere centric article;
http://www.skyandtelescope.com/obser...rth-this-week/
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 31-08-2017, 10:59 PM
Bendy (Ben)
Registered User

Bendy is offline
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Bunbury, WA
Posts: 65
Thanks for the heads up...

Btw, I like the name. All NEOs/asteroids should get nanna names, it makes them sound less threatening - less 'Nibirus' and more 'Nancys'
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-09-2017, 03:29 AM
Malcolm
Registered User

Malcolm is offline
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Lismore NSW Australia
Posts: 116
Doesn't show up in SkySafari which is a shame, sure would make it easy to align on.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-09-2017, 07:08 AM
geolindon (Lindon)
Registered User

geolindon is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: BUNDABERG QLD AUSTRALIA
Posts: 215
thanks, but Bendy Ben from Bunbury is a good'n

Malcolm, i got it on my phone 'sky safari 5 plus'
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-09-2017, 07:18 AM
ZeroID's Avatar
ZeroID (Brent)
Lost in Space ....

ZeroID is offline
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Auckland, NZ
Posts: 4,585
Clouds ..... lots of 'em.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-09-2017, 11:45 PM
tonybarry's Avatar
tonybarry (Tony)
Registered User

tonybarry is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Penrith, Sydney
Posts: 517
I got to see Florence tonight, courtesy of the JPL Horizons ephemeris. It is definitely moving faster than the usual asteroid.

Made a movie of it but not sure how to do a movie here. In the meantime, here are some bitmaps. The NEO was mag 8.4 according to JPL; certainly the brightest thing in the field at the time.

Images are 8 seconds apart. Telescope was LX90-10" @ f/5, Grasshopper Express + ADVS for timekeeping. Dark field applied in Tangra.

Regards,
Tony Barry
WSAAG
Attached Thumbnails
Click for full-size image (3122_33.jpg)
33.1 KB34 views
Click for full-size image (3122_34.jpg)
32.7 KB28 views
Click for full-size image (3122_35.jpg)
32.7 KB25 views
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +10. The time is now 12:51 AM.

Powered by vBulletin Version 3.8.7 | Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Advertisement
NexDome Observatories
Advertisement
Bintel
Advertisement
FLI Cameras and Imaging Accessories
Advertisement
Tasco Australia
Advertisement
Meade Instruments
Advertisement
OzScopes Authorised Dealer
Advertisement
SkyWatcher Star Discovery
Advertisement
Lunatico Astronomical
Advertisement
Atik 16200
Advertisement
Astronomy and Electronics Centre
Advertisement