ICEINSPACE
Most Read Articles
Moon Phase
CURRENT MOON Waxing Crescent
5.8%
The Sun Now
Time Zones
Sydney*
11:26 am
Perth
8:26 am
Auckland*
1:26 pm
New York
7:26 pm
Paris
1:26 am
GMT
12:26 am




  #1  
Old 18-02-2017, 07:38 AM
DaveGee's Avatar
DaveGee (Dave Gault)
Occultation Observer

DaveGee is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Blue Mountains, Australia
Posts: 216
Occultation - Jupiter's moon Elara

The Occult Watcher – RIO feed has been updated and it includes an event involving Jupiter’s moon Elara which will occult a mag 12.1 star 21st Feb 15:12 to 15:47 UT = early hours Wednesday morning.

The shadow path crosses;
- New Zealand’s north island - centred on Rotorua - 1-Sigma = Whangarei to Palmerston North
- Australia’s east coast, centred on Wollongong – 1-Sigma = Bulahdelah to Cooma
then passes near West Wyalong, Broken Hill, Port Augusta, Mount Magnet
- Australia’s west coast near Geraldton.

The moon is 42’ from Jupiter at the time so glare shouldn’t be a problem.

The event is available on your next Occult Watcher update or by visiting
http://www.kuriwaobservatory.com/RIO...l_summary.html

all observations
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 18-02-2017, 11:32 AM
tonybarry's Avatar
tonybarry (Tony)
Registered User

tonybarry is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Penrith, Sydney
Posts: 517
Hi Dave,

Yeah. I'm in. What else to do at 2:30am Wednesday morning ?

And Elara is such a nice name :-)

Heh. I must be going daft in my old age.

Regards,
Tony Barry
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 18-02-2017, 10:11 PM
Saturnine (Jeff)
Registered User

Saturnine is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Wollongong
Posts: 321
Sounds interesting, Wed. is forecast to be clear and I don't have to travel to be on the centre line. Thanks for the heads up.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 19-02-2017, 08:41 PM
tonybarry's Avatar
tonybarry (Tony)
Registered User

tonybarry is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Penrith, Sydney
Posts: 517
I am attaching two finder charts for the Elara occultation.

One is 90 arc minutes wide, and shows Jupiter in the field. Jupiter is a long way away from Elara.

The other is 45 arc minutes wide and shows the star as viewed in alt-az orientation. The field of view is for a GStar camera or similar, with an LX90-8 and a 0.5 focal reducer.

Regards,
Tony Barry
WSAAG
Attached Files
File Type: pdf ElaraField90arcmin.pdf (102.3 KB, 18 views)
File Type: pdf ElaraField45arcmin.pdf (66.1 KB, 14 views)
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +10. The time is now 10:26 AM.

Powered by vBulletin Version 3.8.7 | Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Advertisement
Lunatico Astronomical
Advertisement
Meade Instruments
Advertisement
Tasco Australia
Advertisement
SkyWatcher Star Discovery
Advertisement
Bintel
Advertisement
FLI Cameras and Imaging Accessories
Advertisement
OzScopes Authorised Dealer
Advertisement
NexDome Observatories
Advertisement
Atik 16200
Advertisement
Astronomy and Electronics Centre
Advertisement