ICEINSPACE
Most Read Articles
Moon Phase
CURRENT MOON Waxing Crescent
21.9%
The Sun Now
Time Zones
Sydney*
1:30 am
Perth
10:30 pm
Auckland*
3:30 am
New York
9:30 am
Paris
3:30 pm
GMT
2:30 pm




  #1  
Old 09-02-2017, 08:58 PM
Rick Petrie's Avatar
Rick Petrie
Rickapoodyandafandoogally

Rick Petrie is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Avoca Beach, Australia
Posts: 1,053
Meteor Sightings

Did any fellow IIS persons see a meteor light up the sky between Sydney and Newcastle.
I observed outside about 9:15 tonight the remnants of a long straight trail northwards ending in a brighter fractured trail. Having not seen it directly, my guess is, it would have been very bright on entry travelling north and exploded in a fireball at the end of it's entry. Hence the brighter jagged trail at the northern end of it's trajectory.
Just curious if anyone actually saw it live?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-05-2017, 01:59 PM
seveneves
Registered User

seveneves is offline
 
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 1
I might have seen it.
I was facing north in Sydney's west between 7:30 and 10pm.
At about 9 or so I saw what looked like a very bright meteor. I was in a car so I missed anything above about 30 degrees above the horizon. I watched it drop below the tree line. Didn't see any explosion.
Never seen a meteor that bright or that low in the sky before.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +10. The time is now 12:30 AM.

Powered by vBulletin Version 3.8.7 | Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Advertisement
OzScopes Authorised Dealer
Advertisement
Lunatico Astronomical
Advertisement
NexDome Observatories
Advertisement
SkyWatcher Star Discovery
Advertisement
Meade Instruments
Advertisement
FLI Cameras and Imaging Accessories
Advertisement
Tasco Australia
Advertisement
Atik 16200
Advertisement
Bintel
Advertisement
Astronomy and Electronics Centre
Advertisement