ICEINSPACE
Most Read Articles
Moon Phase
CURRENT MOON First Quarter
55.6%
The Sun Now
Time Zones
Sydney
7:33 pm
Perth
5:33 pm
Auckland
9:33 pm
New York*
5:33 am
Paris*
11:33 am
GMT
9:33 am




Go Back   IceInSpace > Equipment > Equipment Discussions

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1  
Old 11-12-2017, 04:16 PM
GOTO (Geoff)
Registered User

GOTO is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Sydney
Posts: 84
Paramount MYT software limit issue

Hi all,
I recently took a major step in my astrophotography journey and upgraded to a Paramount MYT for my William Optics 132mm. With help I managed to get it to work beautifully last Saturday night but like some newbies I crashed it into the pier.

I had tried to set the slew limits via TCS but it appears to work backward. When the scope is on the east side of the pier and i insert the limit using the 'set this position' tab I can't then slew over the mount, only toward and therefore under the mount. I thought it might be a Southern Hemisphere issue and swapped sides but no luck there either.

I googled and some people in 2012 had the same issue with the MX but Bisque said it's no longer an issue. I've posted there too and am waiting but thought perhaps someone here may have had similar Paramount issues and advice.

PS I also had already set the slew limits via the horizon and altitude limits in the SkyX Pro

Regards
Geoff
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-12-2017, 06:43 PM
GOTO (Geoff)
Registered User

GOTO is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Sydney
Posts: 84
Any Paramount users out there please?
Geoff
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-12-2017, 07:34 PM
gregbradley's Avatar
gregbradley
Registered User

gregbradley is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Sydney
Posts: 14,250
I used to find the software slew limits in Sky X often out. I would have to reset them every time I booted up the program.
There is also a setting for Southern Hemisphere in TCS make sure it says that.

Every now and then Sky X in the past would think you're in the Northern Hemisphere and the sure sign of that would be it would start slewing towards the ground.

Greg.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-12-2017, 10:13 PM
GOTO (Geoff)
Registered User

GOTO is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Sydney
Posts: 84
Thanks Greg,
Yep I checked the hemisphere settings in TCS. The weirdest thing is that the mount wants to slew the wrong way when I set just one side of the pier which does make me think it's got the north and south wrong but the pointing is very accurate. Very confusing.
Cheers
Geoff
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-12-2017, 10:21 PM
gregbradley's Avatar
gregbradley
Registered User

gregbradley is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Sydney
Posts: 14,250
Try clicking on the southern hemisphere button again. I found sometimes it says that but it doesn't set.

SB is very northern hemisphere centric.

Greg.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 14-12-2017, 11:37 PM
PRejto's Avatar
PRejto (Peter)
Registered User

PRejto is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 1,206
There is one important setting that is frequently overlooked when making changed inside the Bisque TCS. Whenever anything is changed it must be saved to the mount's flash memory. This is found at the bottom of the first page in a drop down menu. It is not obvious and is a frequent cause of error and frustration.

Peter
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 19-12-2017, 09:53 PM
GOTO (Geoff)
Registered User

GOTO is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Sydney
Posts: 84
Hi all, thanks for you help. With a long refractor I couldn't get the mount into the atypical position with the centre of the OTA below the counterweights. Once I changed the OTA to a shorter one everything was fine. Not very impressed really so the only way around it is to by the pier extension from Bisque.
Cheers
Geoff
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +10. The time is now 07:33 PM.

Powered by vBulletin Version 3.8.7 | Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Advertisement
SkyWatcher 2018 Catalogue
Advertisement
Lunatico Astronomical
Advertisement
SkyWatcher WiFi Adaptor
Advertisement
NexDome Observatories
Advertisement
OzScopes Authorised Dealer
Advertisement
Atik Horizon
Advertisement
FLI Cameras and Imaging Accessories
Advertisement
Interest Free Finance
Advertisement
Bintel
Advertisement
Astronomy and Electronics Centre
Advertisement