#1  
Old 01-10-2013, 09:08 AM
LewisM's Avatar
LewisM
Novichok test rabbit

LewisM is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Somewhere in the cosmos...
Posts: 9,466
Internal guide chips

What is considered the preferred way to guide a system using the internal guide chip of the CCD? My SBIG ST-8XE has the internal guide chip, and I would prefer to use it than using a guidescope or even an OAG.

PHD sees the dual chips system and asks me if I want to use the guider chip, as does MaximDL.

Appreciate the help - I did not use the internal guide chip previously with this camera.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-10-2013, 09:17 AM
Terry B's Avatar
Terry B
Country living & viewing

Terry B is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Armidale
Posts: 2,767
Quote:
Originally Posted by LewisM View Post
What is considered the preferred way to guide a system using the internal guide chip of the CCD? My SBIG ST-8XE has the internal guide chip, and I would prefer to use it than using a guidescope or even an OAG.

PHD sees the dual chips system and asks me if I want to use the guider chip, as does MaximDL.

Appreciate the help - I did not use the internal guide chip previously with this camera.
I've never used PHD for guiding with the internal guide chip. I use CCDSoft that should have come with the camera. It seems to have a better guiding algorithm than PHD and you can fiddle with the parameters easier than relying on the auto calibration of PHD.
Some colour filters make it harder to find a guide star but for clear or green and blue I've never had any problems.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-10-2013, 09:57 AM
LewisM's Avatar
LewisM
Novichok test rabbit

LewisM is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Somewhere in the cosmos...
Posts: 9,466
Terry,only CCDOps came with the camera (and I am having troubles with it!)

Thanks for the assist.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-10-2013, 11:31 AM
JohnH's Avatar
JohnH
Member # 159

JohnH is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: NSW
Posts: 1,179
+1 for CCDSoft V5 and the internal guide chip - works a treat.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-10-2013, 11:42 AM
Paul Haese's Avatar
Paul Haese
Registered User

Paul Haese is online now
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Adelaide
Posts: 9,473
Using on board guide sensors presents a problem for guide stars when imaging in blue and narrow band filters. Use an OAG for guiding and then use either CCDsoft or MaximDL. Fork out the money for either of those programs and do yourself a favour. PHD is free but not as good as either of the aforementioned programs.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-10-2013, 12:13 PM
LewisM's Avatar
LewisM
Novichok test rabbit

LewisM is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Somewhere in the cosmos...
Posts: 9,466
Already have MaximDL, and will figure out it's guiding routines. Started to already, by setting the split system in the camera config etc.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-10-2013, 12:35 PM
LewisM's Avatar
LewisM
Novichok test rabbit

LewisM is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Somewhere in the cosmos...
Posts: 9,466
Well, CCDSoft was discontinued in August, and you cannot download it unless you had already paid for it. Of course, you can no longer purchase it, so you cannot download it unless you have registered your purchase blah blah blah.

So, CCDSoft is out
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 01-10-2013, 12:41 PM
multiweb's Avatar
multiweb (Marc)
ze frogginator

multiweb is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Hinchinbrook
Posts: 18,418
Quote:
Originally Posted by LewisM View Post
Well, CCDSoft was discontinued in August, and you cannot download it unless you had already paid for it. Of course, you can no longer purchase it, so you cannot download it unless you have registered your purchase blah blah blah.

So, CCDSoft is out
Noticed that too. So is it just discarded or is it bundled with the shy or mount purchase or renamed to something else? I can't just have disappeared?
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 01-10-2013, 12:56 PM
LewisM's Avatar
LewisM
Novichok test rabbit

LewisM is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Somewhere in the cosmos...
Posts: 9,466
You can continue to download it IF you purchased and registered it previously.

I have asked Matthew directly if he will supply a copy of it for a nominal fee. I am NOT buying TheSkyX - I have used it and do not like it much to be honest.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 01-10-2013, 02:55 PM
Joshua Bunn's Avatar
Joshua Bunn (Joshua)
Registered User

Joshua Bunn is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Albany, Western Australia
Posts: 1,125
Quote:
Originally Posted by multiweb View Post
Noticed that too. So is it just discarded or is it bundled with the shy or mount purchase or renamed to something else? I can't just have disappeared?
it has been superseded by the camera addon for TheSkyX.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 01-10-2013, 03:01 PM
multiweb's Avatar
multiweb (Marc)
ze frogginator

multiweb is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Hinchinbrook
Posts: 18,418
Quote:
Originally Posted by Joshua Bunn View Post
it has been superseded by the camera addon for TheSkyX.
Ha... makes sense. Good way to force feed The SkyX.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 01-10-2013, 03:45 PM
LewisM's Avatar
LewisM
Novichok test rabbit

LewisM is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Somewhere in the cosmos...
Posts: 9,466
...which costs $444 USD. NO THANKS!!!
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 02-10-2013, 07:44 AM
rmuhlack's Avatar
rmuhlack (Richard)
Professional Nerd

rmuhlack is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Strathalbyn, SA
Posts: 873
Your remaining options are MaximDL or AstroArt, or an external guidescope/camera. PHD cannot connect to both internal sensors at the same time (confirmed by C Stark).
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 03-10-2013, 09:02 PM
gregbradley's Avatar
gregbradley
Registered User

gregbradley is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Sydney
Posts: 15,621
I use the Sky X on my PMX mount at my dark site observatory. I use either Sky 6 or Sky X at my home observatory.

Sky 6 is much more stable. The Sky X will drop out at times if there is any trouble whatsoever with the camera or mount. Sky 6 does not. I don't know why they let it do that but that is a major weakness.

Apart from that though Sky X is overall quite sophisticated and will do all jobs well.

I find the graphical interface of the Sky 6 much better. For example the NSEW buttons you click to orient the sky with are almost impossible to read on the Sky X. I use them all the time to see what is available to image.

I also find the setup of the graphics and display much harder on the Sky X. Part of that is a learning curve working out how things are different. But it does seem not particularly user friendly.

But integrating T-point and super models more easily is a big plus (once you figure out how to make it work - allow about a month to do that! correction 3 months!!).

No really its a good program but quite complex and a bit unstable. Also there is a question mark over whether PEC works in the southern hemisphere or not. At least for some users. Not sure how that issue with a few people panned out.

CCDsoft is a good acquisition program but the guts of it are now in the Sky X. One improvement over CCDSoft is the ability to program more than a 4 filtered imaging run. Say you want to do Ha LRGB and set it up then go to bed. You can't with CCDsoft (apparently its able to modified if you get the code). In Sky X you can program an unlimited number of filters. So you could do Ha S11 O111 LRGB if you wanted to. That would save me a lot of trouble at times as HaLRGB is a common imaging run for anything with a nebula in it.

Greg.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 05-10-2013, 12:44 AM
netwolf's Avatar
netwolf
Registered User

netwolf is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 2,906
Not sure but have you checked if Sequence Generator Pro supports this? Maybe a cheap alternative.
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 05-10-2013, 10:14 PM
rmuhlack's Avatar
rmuhlack (Richard)
Professional Nerd

rmuhlack is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Strathalbyn, SA
Posts: 873
SGP does not support a dual chip SBIG camera (that's the word direct from the developers)
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 06-10-2013, 07:30 AM
LewisM's Avatar
LewisM
Novichok test rabbit

LewisM is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Somewhere in the cosmos...
Posts: 9,466
I have sorted the CCDSoft issue thanks. Bisque made me a very fine offer.

I also connect the camera and internal guide chip with MaxIM without any issues.

Now to use it in anger to rid me of LP once and for all. NB here I come!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +10. The time is now 04:19 PM.

Powered by vBulletin Version 3.8.7 | Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Advertisement
Lunatico Astronomical
Advertisement
Star Adventurer
Advertisement
EQ8-R
Advertisement
Celestron RASA
Advertisement
Bintel
Advertisement
Testar
Advertisement
Astromechanics
Advertisement
Astronomy and Electronics Centre
Advertisement