Go Back   IceInSpace > Beginners Start Here > Beginners Equipment Discussions

Old 15-08-2020, 09:39 PM
bluesilver (Peter)

How tight to tighten the clutches up on the Skywatcher AZ-EQ6

Hi, I am new to these mounts, I have always used the goto mounts on Dobsonians.

So i just relieved mine yesterday, the Skywatcher AZ-EQ6

Telescope going on it is the Skywatcher Evostar 150ED

So i got everything mounted and gone through the process of balancing everything out to see how it all feels.

I nipped up both clutches so that the scope fall.

Then when i went to take a look through the eyepiece i found if i bumped it even slightly the telescope would move.

I know with the Dobsonian mounts that i tighten up the clutches and it stays fairly well solid and doesn't move even if you bump it slighty.

So my question is, how tight do i have to do these two clutches up?

I find that the RA Clutch is the main one that doesn't appear to hold tight.

Is this a common issue or do i have to really tighten it up?

Any advice would be appreciated.

Thanks.
Old 15-08-2020, 10:23 PM
nsavage (Nick)

I could be incorrect but I suspect that the scope may be too heavy for the mount.
Old 15-08-2020, 10:43 PM
sunslayr (David)

Don't worry the mount can handle that scope, but the ra is a little weird in the azeq6. You have to unscrew the handle and move it to another hole and tighten it a bit more until it doesn't move unless you push it hard.
Old 15-08-2020, 10:45 PM
Craig_

I am not sure about using it in AZ mode (which presumably you are for visual) but in EQ mode you may find that the clutches won't be enough to stop the scope moving if the balance isn't right. No idea if this is the cause of your issue, though.

Quote:
Originally Posted by nsavage View Post
I could be incorrect but I suspect that the scope may be too heavy for the mount.
Google suggests this scope is about 10kg, which is well within the payload limit of the AZ-EQ6 (20kg.)
Old 16-08-2020, 12:01 AM
nsavage (Nick)

Quote: