Old 21-03-2018, 10:29 AM
PKay (Peter)

Ideal Number of Subs. Take 2

Please see attached image (Figure 3- How many images).
It is within the Pixinsight ‘Image Integration’ support documentation.

In my last essay, I attempted to understand why this may be the case.
That prompted several replies and it appears that from experience, in some scenarios, more images can indeed be useful.
Also I look at the results of others, and the techniques used vary considerably. Why is this so?
And finally address the importance of total integration time.

Please remember, this is only my take on things. I am new to this game and trying to make sense of it all. Please feel free to contribute.

Looking at the equation in Figure 3, there is no mention of any other important variables. Variable such as target brightness, average background noise level, aperture, focal length, pixel size, exposure length etc etc.
The only variable is N. N = number of images.

I then did some light reading :
Probability and Stochastic Processes for Engineers. I so hate that book.
It turns out the formula used to create the graph is applicable to any random variable (at least I think it is). Terms such as ‘Central Limit Theorem’ were mentioned.
The Central Limit Theorem states that the ‘sampling distribution’ of the ‘sampling means’ approaches a ‘normal distribution’ as the sample size gets larger. This fact holds especially true for sample sizes over 30. All this is saying is that as you take more samples, especially large ones, your graph of the average value will look more like a normal distribution.

An example:
Take a bag of tennis balls to the top of a high rise building and then drop then one by one from the same spot. Assume good conditions ie: no hurricane blowing.
Mark on the ground where each lands.
Theory says that after 30-50 balls, you can safely predict where they will land. After that you are wasting tennis balls.

But then if we can change one of the variables.