ICEINSPACE
Most Read Articles
Moon Phase
CURRENT MOON Waning Crescent
2.5%
The Sun Now
Time Zones
Sydney*
2:01 am
Perth
11:01 pm
Auckland*
4:01 am
New York
10:01 am
Paris
4:01 pm
GMT
3:01 pm




  #1  
Old 14-08-2017, 06:29 PM
LewisM's Avatar
LewisM
Xenomorph

LewisM is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Somewhere in the cosmos...
Posts: 6,539
To sell or not to sell

Recently acquired a W.O binoviewer complete set, that comes with the W.O 20mm Plössl's, which, bluntly, are utter crap.

Would it be wise to keep these with the binos should I end up selling the set (when I upgrade to Zeiss/Televue), or give them away to neophyte astronomers in a random act of kindness (well, not that kind considering how gad-awful they are - like looking through a cheap plastic lensed achromat!)

I have 2 good pairs currently - Parks GS 25mm and Tak LE7.5, and working on a 10mm set and a 3.8mm set. The W.O's are essentially useless.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 14-08-2017, 06:36 PM
JA
Registered User

JA is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 736
A random act of act kindness is always paid back many fold, not that that's the reason we should do these things though. Go with your first instinct and never look back in doubt.

Best
JA
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 14-08-2017, 07:03 PM
peter_4059's Avatar
peter_4059 (Peter)
Big Scopes are Cool

peter_4059 is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Brisbane
Posts: 3,741
If they are that bad then the honerable thing to do is throw them in the bin and save the world from the pain they will ultimately cause.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 14-08-2017, 07:36 PM
LewisM's Avatar
LewisM
Xenomorph

LewisM is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Somewhere in the cosmos...
Posts: 6,539
Lots of blue CA bad. LOTS!

Sharp enough, but they booger the view with constant distraction. Conversely, even with an old Ultrascopic, there is no CA. With the Parks, zilch false colour as with the Taks.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 14-08-2017, 07:38 PM
LewisM's Avatar
LewisM
Xenomorph

LewisM is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Somewhere in the cosmos...
Posts: 6,539
I'll probably just keep them for the kids Aldi Dobsonian - better than those genuine plastic ones at least.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 14-08-2017, 07:41 PM
leon's Avatar
leon
Registered User

leon is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: ballarat
Posts: 10,115
Yep just move forward and, move on.

Leon
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 14-08-2017, 07:44 PM
LewisM's Avatar
LewisM
Xenomorph

LewisM is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Somewhere in the cosmos...
Posts: 6,539
Onwards and upwards, to infinity and beyond!
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 02-10-2017, 06:19 PM
Aelk5579
Registered User

Aelk5579 is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Sydney
Posts: 6
I think it would be wise not to sell
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 13-11-2017, 03:44 PM
vinculumau
Registered User

vinculumau is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: Sydney
Posts: 6
I'm looking at selling my one & only Vixen 8mm do I dare depart on such a grand FOV, served me well over so many years in the dark.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +10. The time is now 01:01 AM.

Powered by vBulletin Version 3.8.7 | Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Advertisement
Meade Instruments
Advertisement
FLI Cameras and Imaging Accessories
Advertisement
Bintel
Advertisement
Atik 16200
Advertisement
NexDome Observatories
Advertisement
Lunatico Astronomical
Advertisement
Tasco Australia
Advertisement
OzScopes Authorised Dealer
Advertisement
SkyWatcher Star Discovery
Advertisement
Astronomy and Electronics Centre
Advertisement