ICEINSPACE
Most Read Articles
Moon Phase
CURRENT MOON New Moon
0.5%
The Sun Now
Time Zones
Sydney*
7:10 am
Perth
4:10 am
Auckland*
9:10 am
New York
3:10 pm
Paris
9:10 pm
GMT
8:10 pm




  #1  
Old 11-01-2018, 10:25 PM
edelweiss (Eeda)
Registered User

edelweiss is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Perth
Posts: 41
Step up from dob 8"

Good day everyone. I need some suggestion/recommendation from everyone about a suitable telescope for astrophotography. I already have a Skywatcher dob 8" and normally i just used my dob and camera phone for moon pics. However, recently i feel like wanting to try deep space astrophotography (just the easy ones like bright nebulae, clusters etc) and now i'm browsing the suitable telescope. My budget range would be around 500-1000$ (lesser is better as im in tight budget now)

thank you
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-01-2018, 10:28 PM
xelasnave's Avatar
xelasnave
Gravity does not Suck

xelasnave is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Tabulam
Posts: 8,720
Have you thought about a mount?
You could probably use your 10 inch on an eq6 mount.
Alex
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-01-2018, 11:49 PM
Jasp05 (Aaron)
Registered User

Jasp05 is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: Rockhampton
Posts: 91
If you have a dslr with a zoom lens around 100-200mm I'd consider the skywatcher star adventurer. (Around $530 from Bintel at the moment, you will just need your own tripod - or buy a decent one).

Otherwise a second hand HEQ5 Pro mount would handle your dslr in the meantime and allow for an optical tube to be added in the future.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 13-01-2018, 06:28 PM
doppler's Avatar
doppler (Rick)
Registered User

doppler is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Mackay
Posts: 1,155
A good motorized mount is the prerequisite for any astro imaging. If you are thinking telescope imaging then a HEQ5 pro is the best starting point. You can pick one up for around $700 ish second hand. If you are keen you could get some tube rings and use your 8" dob on that mount.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 13-01-2018, 09:02 PM
xelasnave's Avatar
xelasnave
Gravity does not Suck

xelasnave is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Tabulam
Posts: 8,720
I goofed..you have an 8 inch I second Ricks approach although an eq 6 would manage it better.
Alex
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +10. The time is now 06:10 AM.

Powered by vBulletin Version 3.8.7 | Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Advertisement
NexDome Observatories
Advertisement
SkyWatcher WiFi Adaptor
Advertisement
SkyWatcher 2018 Catalogue
Advertisement
OzScopes Authorised Dealer
Advertisement
Lunatico Astronomical
Advertisement
SkyWatcher Esprit
Advertisement
FLI Cameras and Imaging Accessories
Advertisement
Atik 16200
Advertisement
Bintel
Advertisement
Astronomy and Electronics Centre
Advertisement