ICEINSPACE
Most Read Articles
Moon Phase
CURRENT MOON Waxing Crescent
8.4%
The Sun Now
Time Zones
Sydney*
12:43 am
Perth
9:43 pm
Auckland*
2:43 am
New York
8:43 am
Paris
2:43 pm
GMT
1:43 pm




Go Back   IceInSpace > Equipment > DIY Observatories

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rating: Thread Rating: 2 votes, 3.50 average.
  #61  
Old 11-09-2017, 07:37 AM
bojan's Avatar
bojan
amateur

bojan is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Mt Waverley, VIC
Posts: 4,969
Inspection of hexagons over weekend (they were stored for couple of years at friend's place, they are now in Ballarat, in the room next to future observatory).

The glue I used for joining struts ("liquid nails") is rubbish.. couple of struts felled off, so yesterday I applied screws to hold them back together on all 14 hexagons.

At the end this will not be a serious problem, as my intention was always to final assemble the whole structure together by means of screws and perforated steel tape (still searching for 20mm wide, 0.5~0.75mm variety... ).

And still waiting for ring to be welded together...
Attached Thumbnails
Click for full-size image (DSC_0459.jpg)
202.3 KB42 views
Click for full-size image (DSC_0465.jpg)
191.8 KB44 views
Reply With Quote
  #62  
Old 20-09-2017, 04:44 PM
Boozlefoot
Registered User

Boozlefoot is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: Devil's Hole Observatory
Posts: 185
perforated steel tape (still searching for 20mm wide, 0.5~0.75mm variety... )

Hi Bojan

I'm building a truncated trapezium, using ply panels and perforated strap joints/screwed, as well as epoxy infill. I intend to use Pryda Speed Brace which is 25mm x 0.8mm in either 6 or 15 metre rolls. (SB082/6, Also known as hoop iron in this size). Pryda has a good catalogue available online.

Regards, Rod
Reply With Quote
  #63  
Old 22-09-2017, 06:24 AM
bojan's Avatar
bojan
amateur

bojan is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Mt Waverley, VIC
Posts: 4,969
Hi Rod, ,
Thank you for the tip.
I know about Pryda, 25mm is a bit too wide (my struts are 20x40mm), but then again it is possible to cut a wider tape into two narrow ones..

Some time ago I found this in Bunnings, but I think one strip was 88c ($13 or so on ebay !!! ).. too expensive since I need quite a number of them (~70 pcs for one side only... )
Attached Thumbnails
Click for full-size image (c_02.jpg)
110.2 KB16 views

Last edited by bojan; 02-10-2017 at 06:33 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #64  
Old 17-10-2017, 06:35 AM
bojan's Avatar
bojan
amateur

bojan is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Mt Waverley, VIC
Posts: 4,969
Last weekend I had a discussion about my future dome with my south-east neighbour... she mentioned building permit (I believed this may not be necessary because the whole object will have footprint a bit smaller than 10m2.. then I went to Ballarat Council website and found out that for any size deck (and the platform on which the dome will be mounted is just that - deck) the building permit is required, not only in Ballarat but all over VIC.
I think I will have to go to council and talk to somebody before I start any serious planning.

As for the location itself (corner of our property, extension to the existing room above the garage/workshop) they were not very enthusiastic because the dome will dominate their north-west view even when the higher fence is in place (see attachment), also their privacy may be potentially violated by my presence in the dome... but there was no open resistance to the idea as yet... They said if in the future they felt their privacy is affected they will plant a tree (I am not sure I really want such outcome, the tree will block my view to the South_East) or I have to rise additional 0.5 metre applied to the full length of the fence (on my expense.. which is also not desirable outcome).
I tried to assure them the whole thing will be remotely controlled from the house, not sure if I was successful.

Per aspera ad astra... almost literary.
Attached Thumbnails
Click for full-size image (dome - neighbour_view.jpg)
201.3 KB24 views

Last edited by bojan; 17-10-2017 at 07:40 AM.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +10. The time is now 11:43 PM.

Powered by vBulletin Version 3.8.7 | Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Advertisement
Meade Instruments
Advertisement
Bintel
Advertisement
Atik 16200
Advertisement
NexDome Observatories
Advertisement
SkyWatcher Star Discovery
Advertisement
FLI Cameras and Imaging Accessories
Advertisement
Lunatico Astronomical
Advertisement
OzScopes Authorised Dealer
Advertisement
Tasco Australia
Advertisement
Astronomy and Electronics Centre
Advertisement