#1  
Old 29-12-2013, 04:30 AM
malau (David)
Registered User

malau is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Sydney
Posts: 204
How should I process Jupiter?

Hi All,

Finally I have my first planetary photo from my telescope after waiting for long time.

I took some (cant remember how many) jupiter photos with all 4 satellites.

Here are the info:
Skywatcher 150/750 with motor drive
600D with Astronomik CLS filter
For planet only 1/30 sec 100 iso
For satellites 1 sec with 800 iso.

I have some dark files for both 100 and 800 iso and planning for DSS

Just wonder how should I process it? Tried google but couldnt find any good tutorial.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 29-12-2013, 09:36 PM
Logieberra's Avatar
Logieberra (Logan)
Registered User

Logieberra is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Canberra
Posts: 1,543
David, as a starting point for planetary - I suggest that you get a nice, little cheapy Philips SPC900NC toUcam/webcam. Most planetary guys start out there. It will capture video, not individual images like your SLR. Specialised software like Registax will break that video down down into thousands of frames, which are stacked to create a 'super frame' for want of a better term.

Also, because you're trying to use a SLR with a refractor (correct me if I'm wrong), you'll definitely need to invest in a barlow if you persisit with the SLR setup. For example, guys that use large mirrored scopes (newtonians) for high resolution planetary typically work commonly use the 5x Powermate by Televue, connected to their cameras, to reveal fine details on the surface of the planet.

Here area a few primer articles to get you started:

http://www.iceinspace.com.au/63-431-0-0-1-0.html and

http://www.iceinspace.com.au/63-306-0-0-1-0.html.

Good luck. Logan.

Last edited by Logieberra; 30-12-2013 at 01:09 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 31-12-2013, 03:15 AM
malau (David)
Registered User

malau is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Sydney
Posts: 204
Quote:
Originally Posted by Logieberra View Post
David, as a starting point for planetary - I suggest that you get a nice, little cheapy Philips SPC900NC toUcam/webcam. Most planetary guys start out there. It will capture video, not individual images like your SLR. Specialised software like Registax will break that video down down into thousands of frames, which are stacked to create a 'super frame' for want of a better term.

Also, because you're trying to use a SLR with a refractor (correct me if I'm wrong), you'll definitely need to invest in a barlow if you persisit with the SLR setup. For example, guys that use large mirrored scopes (newtonians) for high resolution planetary typically work commonly use the 5x Powermate by Televue, connected to their cameras, to reveal fine details on the surface of the planet.

Here area a few primer articles to get you started:

http://www.iceinspace.com.au/63-431-0-0-1-0.html and

http://www.iceinspace.com.au/63-306-0-0-1-0.html.

Good luck. Logan.
Hi Logan,

Thanks for your reply. I actually use reflector telescope. I have a barlow but it is 2x tho.

For Phillip CCD cam.. do you mean this one?

http://www.iceinspace.com.au/forum/s...d.php?t=114529 ?

Thanks again
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 31-12-2013, 07:50 AM
Logieberra's Avatar
Logieberra (Logan)
Registered User

Logieberra is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Canberra
Posts: 1,543
Something like that would work. Or put a 'wanted' ad in this section: http://www.iceinspace.com.au/forum/f...splay.php?f=32

They go for about $50 used. Get the SPC900NC version if you can and make sure it comes with a 1.25" nose piece.

FYI, I'm no planetary guru. Some of the more experienced guys might like to chime in and offer a hand?

Cheers.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-01-2014, 01:49 PM
rustigsmed's Avatar
rustigsmed (Russell)
Registered User

rustigsmed is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Mornington Peninsula, Australia
Posts: 3,160
Hi david,

you can use your existing 600D on video mode, you won't have to buy anything else then. often people will buy something like a televue powermate or barlow to 'zoom' in more on the target, otherwise you can go to 3x optical zoom when recording and the image doesn't degrade. record in RAW format.

i think you will need to convert the file type afterwards, but the software that came with the camera is able to do that.

cheers,

russ
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +10. The time is now 11:06 PM.

Powered by vBulletin Version 3.8.7 | Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Advertisement
NexDome Observatories
Advertisement
Lunatico Astronomical
Advertisement
Bintel
Advertisement
Celestron Australia
Advertisement
Meade Australia
Advertisement
OzScopes Authorised Dealer
Advertisement
SkyWatcher Australia
Advertisement
Astronomy and Electronics Centre
Advertisement