Go Back   IceInSpace > Beginners Start Here > Beginners Talk

Old 01-01-2009, 09:48 PM
Christian

Hoping to get a ballpark idea what 525x magnification offers

Please pardon my naiveté. I am new to astronomy as well as this forum but suspect I am about to ask a well answered question. Can someone tell me, given my telescope what I can expect to resolve; I’ve got a shiny new entry level telescope (a Tasko model 49076700 reflector). Its specs as reported in the manual are:
Mirror Diameter = 76mm
Focal Length = 800mm
Several eyepieces and a 3x Barlow
Max calculated magnification = 525x

I dug around sites and was hoping to find a list of “observable objects per magnification” but had no luck. So, given my new telescope, what can I expect to resolve; rings around Saturn, nebulae, Neil Armstrong’s scuff marks, nothing but the neighbors wash? I’ve had a look at the moon which was impressive. Now I’m wondering what to point the scope at next. Any suggestions would be appreciated.
Old 01-01-2009, 10:06 PM
mick pinner
Astrolounge

sorry Christian but forget about the 525x mag, high magnifications are for very special nights of seeing with good quality instruments. one rule is 50x mag per inch of aperture so your limit really is about 150.
the figures quoted on the telescope box are theoretical not actually achievable while maintaining any visual quality.
stick to low power observing and do not use the barlow, it will be cheap quality and only degrade the image.
if the scope is collimated you will be able to observe the moon and at times some larger planets and star clusters with some success.
Old 02-01-2009, 12:25 AM
Blue Skies (Jacquie)
It's about time

Quote:
Originally Posted by Christian View Post
I dug around sites and was hoping to find a list of “observable objects per magnification” but had no luck.