Go Back   IceInSpace > IceTrade Classifieds > IceTrade Archives

 
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1  
Old 31-05-2019, 02:58 PM
glasseyes's Avatar
glasseyes (John)
Registered User

glasseyes is online now
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: SA
Posts: 106
FTDI cable for use with EQMOD

FTDI cable for use with EQMOD
Includes RJ45 to D9 adapter.
Ex. Cond.
$20.00 buyer pays postage.
Attached Thumbnails
Click for full-size image (232R_2.jpg)
181.7 KB30 views

Last edited by glasseyes; 24-06-2019 at 04:10 PM. Reason: Sent wrong cable to buyer
  #2  
Old 31-05-2019, 11:51 PM
Thacphan (Tom)
Registered User

Thacphan is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Melbounre Australia
Posts: 6
Hi John

Can this cable to be used to connect EQ8 direct to the computer?
Tom
  #3  
Old 01-06-2019, 12:32 AM
glasseyes's Avatar
glasseyes (John)
Registered User

glasseyes is online now
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: SA
Posts: 106
Hi Tom,
I do not know anything about EQ8.
I had an EQ6 mount.
The cables I used for EQ6 are the cables I have for sale on IIS and they are TTL232R cables, from FTDI.

There is some info here that may help you.
http://eqmod.sourceforge.net/eqdirect2.htm
You will see that under the heading "EQDIRECT-USB" it states,
"The AZ-EQ6GT and EQ8 mounts have a 5V tolerant 3.3V signaling interface and so TTL232R3V3 or TTL232R can be used".

You will need to read more on the FTDI driver to load for use with EQ8. You also need to check if EQ8 has a D9 serial port wired the same as EQ6.

Sorry I cannot help you more. Maybe you could ask questions on IIS forum.

Kind regards,
John
  #4  
Old 01-06-2019, 09:06 AM
Thacphan (Tom)
Registered User

Thacphan is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Melbounre Australia
Posts: 6
Quote:
Originally Posted by glasseyes View Post
Hi Tom,
I do not know anything about EQ8.
I had an EQ6 mount.
The cables I used for EQ6 are the cables I have for sale on IIS and they are TTL232R cables, from FTDI.

There is some info here that may help you.
http://eqmod.sourceforge.net/eqdirect2.htm
You will see that under the heading "EQDIRECT-USB" it states,
"The AZ-EQ6GT and EQ8 mounts have a 5V tolerant 3.3V signaling interface and so TTL232R3V3 or TTL232R can be used".

You will need to read more on the FTDI driver to load for use with EQ8. You also need to check if EQ8 has a D9 serial port wired the same as EQ6.

Sorry I cannot help you more. Maybe you could ask questions on IIS forum.

Kind regards,
John
Thank you John, I will do a bit research then get back to you.
  #5  
Old 01-06-2019, 11:44 PM
glasseyes's Avatar
glasseyes (John)
Registered User

glasseyes is online now
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: SA
Posts: 106
FTDI Cable

Hi Tom,
One of the FTDI cables is now sold, I have marked the other as "Sale Pending" in case you decide to buy it.
If you don't want it, please advise me ASAP so I can re-list it again.
Kind regards,
John
 

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +10. The time is now 11:53 AM.

Powered by vBulletin Version 3.8.7 | Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Advertisement
NexDome Observatories
Advertisement
Celestron Australia
Advertisement
Bintel
Advertisement
SkyWatcher Australia
Advertisement
Lunatico Astronomical
Advertisement
OzScopes Authorised Dealer
Advertisement
Meade Australia
Advertisement
Astronomy and Electronics Centre
Advertisement