#1  
Old 25-02-2014, 03:10 PM
peeb61's Avatar
peeb61 (Paul)
Always looking up

peeb61 is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Wollongong
Posts: 707
Amp Glow QHY8L problem

Hi All,

I was wondering how I could turn off this glow in the top left hand corner of this image. The image is only 2 minutes in length and the glow is more apparent in longer exposures.
This has never happen before and is driving me mad well now since I changed PC's. (Win7 Ult 64bit)

Image was taken in MaximDL and at -15deg.

My Camera is the QHY8L.

Many thanks in advance.

Paul
Attached Thumbnails
Click for full-size image (Amp Glow.jpg)
183.9 KB45 views
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 25-02-2014, 03:26 PM
mithrandir's Avatar
mithrandir (Andrew)
Registered User

mithrandir is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Glenhaven
Posts: 4,161
Quote:
Originally Posted by peeb61 View Post
Hi All,

I was wondering how I could turn off this glow in the top left hand corner of this image. The image is only 2 minutes in length and the glow is more apparent in longer exposures.
This has never happen before and is driving me mad well now since I changed PC's. (Win7 Ult 64bit)

Image was taken in MaximDL and at -15deg.

My Camera is the QHY8L.
My first guess would be that the cooler isn't working. Is the -15deg the present value from the camera? What was the ambient temp? At this time of year you might have to set it at something below -30.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 25-02-2014, 05:45 PM
peeb61's Avatar
peeb61 (Paul)
Always looking up

peeb61 is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Wollongong
Posts: 707
Thanks Andrew,

I took the image last night, surprising enough it was quite mild outside. The cooler didn't struggle to gain the marked -15 and hovered around this temp for the duration.

I have never pushed it to -30 the most was -20. There is something fishy going on as when I use EZYCap, the shorter exposures download but slightly longer exposures hang whilst downloading. I used this as an example because EZYCAP doesn't use EQMOD drivers? because I thought this may be the issue but alas no.

MaximDL appears to download thumbnail images??

I am going to bypass the USB Powered Hub and try and take some test shots. I will see from there.

Paul
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 25-02-2014, 06:37 PM
alistairsam's Avatar
alistairsam
Registered User

alistairsam is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Box Hill North, Vic
Posts: 1,817
I doubt if a usb issue could cause amp glow. As mentioned it could be the cooler not working.
If its under warranty, then its worth checking with theo.

Cheers
Alistair
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 25-02-2014, 07:43 PM
BlackWidow's Avatar
BlackWidow (Mardy)
Seeing Stars

BlackWidow is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Adelaide Australia
Posts: 610
I have had this issue and it tuned out to be the multi pin din/ s video connector not making good contact. I used some electrical contact cleaner spray and cut a very small amount of the plastic on the plug ends so they pushed into the sockets a little deeper.... Hey presto the problem was fixed. I was also getting lots of hot pixels, but all is good now.. You could also try another cable. You can purchase them cheap from Jaycar or d/smiths


Mardy
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 25-02-2014, 09:23 PM
peeb61's Avatar
peeb61 (Paul)
Always looking up

peeb61 is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Wollongong
Posts: 707
Thanks Mardy and Alistair for your supporting messages, it is much appreciated.

I connected a laptop running MaximDL directly to the QHY8L and exposed 10 x 5 minute images and everything worked perfectly! Temp set at -15 remained stable. The results of the exposed images? No Amp Glow at all!

So I'm beginning to think there are issues with the original Windows 7 build on my PC?

The attached image is a single 5 minute exposure, rough process in CS3. The was taken inside the ob's whilst still light outside hence the halo.

It needs further investigating.

Paul
Attached Thumbnails
Click for full-size image (Test2.jpg)
147.8 KB44 views
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 02-03-2014, 01:31 PM
peeb61's Avatar
peeb61 (Paul)
Always looking up

peeb61 is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Wollongong
Posts: 707
Just to cap off on this problem.

I have reimaged my PC and everything is running as it should, I am capturing 5 minute exposures with no hint of amp glow.

Thinking back, I had used Bahtinov Grabber for the first time on another PC which ran into problems with my QHY8L as well and a rebuild later I never used it again? This time I actually ran Bahtinov Grabber again and the same thing has happened again with a different PC?? I think I may give it a wide berth.

Would there be any compatibility issues with Bahtinov Grabber?

Just a though.

Paul
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +10. The time is now 09:46 PM.

Powered by vBulletin Version 3.8.7 | Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Advertisement
Meade Australia
Advertisement
SkyWatcher Australia
Advertisement
Celestron Australia
Advertisement
Lunatico Astronomical
Advertisement
OzScopes Authorised Dealer
Advertisement
Bintel
Advertisement
Astromechanics
Advertisement
Astronomy and Electronics Centre
Advertisement