Go Back   IceInSpace > Equipment > Equipment Discussions

Old 07-10-2017, 05:05 PM
Juno

Powder Coating a Dobsonian Telescope.

Does the Secondary and Primary mirrors need to be removed when giving the scope to be powder coated?

Its currently a thought, but sometime in the future I want to have my Dob and base powder coated a different colour.
Old 07-10-2017, 05:55 PM
Kunama

Everything that can be unbolted needs to be separated. Mirrors, focuser, screws, bolts etc....
Old 07-10-2017, 07:05 PM
Juno

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kunama View Post
Everything that can be unbolted needs to be separated. Mirrors, focuser, screws, bolts etc....

Dang, im not a pro on that sort of thing, and I have no one that can help me.

Would there be any other way that I can colour my scope with a durable paint that will last, and will make the tube nice and shiny? perhaps I can look at doing it on my own?
Old 08-10-2017, 08:30 AM
OzEclipse (Joe Cali)

Powder coating is a durable and cosmetically pleasing finish. However, it is porous so water can get in and rust can occur on the steel substrate.

Paint it.

Joe
Old 08-10-2017, 08:50 AM
Juno

Quote:
Originally Posted by OzEclipse View Post
Powder coating is a durable and cosmetically pleasing finish. However, it is porous so water can get in and rust can occur on the steel substrate.

Paint it.

Joe

What paint would you recommend? like what name of paint?
Old 08-10-2017, 09:30 AM
doppler (Rick)

Automotive acrylic lacquer, you can get spray cans from the likes of Auto Barn and Supercheap.
Old 08-10-2017, 09:41 AM
Juno

Quote:
Originally Posted by doppler View Post
Automotive acrylic lacquer, you can get spray cans from the likes of Auto Barn and Supercheap.

Thank you!! will that work for the base as well? I dont want it as shiny as the tube, presuming the base is wood it wont be that shiny anyway.

Last edited by Juno; 08-10-2017 at 09:54 AM.
Old 08-10-2017, 12:28 PM
doppler (Rick)