ICEINSPACE
Most Read Articles
Moon Phase
CURRENT MOON Waxing Crescent
5.8%
The Sun Now
Time Zones
Sydney*
11:32 am
Perth
8:32 am
Auckland*
1:32 pm
New York
7:32 pm
Paris
1:32 am
GMT
12:32 am




  #1  
Old 24-10-2017, 02:57 PM
PKay's Avatar
PKay (Peter)
Registered User

PKay is offline
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: DEPOT BEACH
Posts: 115
Ngc 253

A difficult target for my 3.5" refractor, but we have to try these things.

Last night. 3 hours of 30 sec subs.
First time for me to image across the meridian (YAY!!)

Everything just worked (aside from a rogue cloud).

Image is cropped bigtime.

I am happy with the result and advice is always welcome :-)
Attached Thumbnails
Click for full-size image (NGC_253_integration_3 images_C.jpg)
185.7 KB66 views
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 24-10-2017, 04:19 PM
Mickoid (Michael)
Registered User

Mickoid is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 262
Peter, that's a fine result with a 3.5" scope. Lovely detail coming through, you should be pleased with that. What is the make of the scope? I tried this a few weeks back with 30 X 1 min subs using a 4" refractor and a DSLR and got the picture below. Where has all your colour gone? Were you using a mono CCD?
Attached Thumbnails
Click for full-size image (Esprit100Ngc253.jpg)
191.6 KB37 views
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 24-10-2017, 06:06 PM
PKay's Avatar
PKay (Peter)
Registered User

PKay is offline
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: DEPOT BEACH
Posts: 115
"Where has the colour gone"

No Idea.

Maybe over exposed??

I need help!!

Scope: Orion Eon
Camera: (ZWOAsi1600MC-C)
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 24-10-2017, 11:46 PM
ChrisV's Avatar
ChrisV (Chris)
Registered User

ChrisV is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Sydney
Posts: 388
I reckon you have it all there in your image, mine looked like yours until I found a way to help colour on HarrysAstroShed.

Near the end of processing I boost the target colour as follows - mask the background, then boost the target colour by using CurvesTransform on S (saturation) rather than the default RGB/K. It was a revelation to me! If you still need it, you can then use ColourSaturation to selectively enhance colour components - but I didn't use this on my NGC253.

Now I will get back to reading 'Inside Pixinsight', a jolly good read ...
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 25-10-2017, 08:18 AM
PKay's Avatar
PKay (Peter)
Registered User

PKay is offline
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: DEPOT BEACH
Posts: 115
The plot thickens.
I did some testing this morning and found 2 problems.

Somehow the gain setting had changed in my Sharpcap profile.
It was set at 400 (should have been 200).
That led to a huge increase in noise.
I took some darks at both settings and at gain 400, the image is total crap.

Now this is weird:
I put a red filter on the scope and took a few images.
To see the image correctly (red) in the sharpcap preview, I use the GRBG debayer setting.

I have previously assumed that this same code is used in PI for the debayer process.

Guess what...it's different.
I had to use GRGB code to get a red image.

Someone has got it wrong (either PI or Sharpcap)

So that explains my lack of colour.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +10. The time is now 10:32 AM.

Powered by vBulletin Version 3.8.7 | Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Advertisement
Atik 16200
Advertisement
OzScopes Authorised Dealer
Advertisement
FLI Cameras and Imaging Accessories
Advertisement
Lunatico Astronomical
Advertisement
SkyWatcher Star Discovery
Advertisement
Bintel
Advertisement
Tasco Australia
Advertisement
NexDome Observatories
Advertisement
Meade Instruments
Advertisement
Astronomy and Electronics Centre
Advertisement