Old 21-02-2008, 09:32 AM
multiweb (Marc)
ze frogginator

Autoguiding

Hi all, I'm starting to look into auto-guiding. I'm totally new to this so I need some assistance to set-up and would appreciate any pointers/advices so I can get the right gear first time around as I'm on a budget.

I've got a G-11 with Gemini Lvl 4. The box has an auto-guider port (the manual says ST4 compatible). I also purchased a while back a GPUSB-AH adaptor from shoestring astronomy.

I'll probably get an ED80 down the road but for now the plan is to auto-guide through my (only) scope and piggy back my Pentax *istD so I can do wide-field long exposures under dark skies.

I downloaded a few programs like PHD guiding, GuideDog etc... They all work through a laptop. I'm trying not to use a laptop.

Is there a way to autoguide directly from the camera to the Gemini? Or am I stuck having to go through a laptop? I guess my questions are directed to Losmandy/Gemini users on this forum. How do you guys do it?

Thanks for your help.
Old 21-02-2008, 09:49 AM
RB (Andrew)

Quote:
Originally Posted by multiweb View Post
Is there a way to autoguide directly from the camera to the Gemini? Or am I stuck having to go through a laptop? I guess my questions are directed to Losmandy/Gemini users on this forum. How do you guys do it?

Thanks for your help.
I'm not sure what you mean by "guiding from the camera".
Do you mean connecting the Pentax to the Losmandy ST4 guider port?
No you can't do it.

You either need a dedicated autoguider, like the SBIG ST4 (you'll need to find a second hand one as they're discontinued) or something similar so you avoid using the laptop.

Or

You will need to go down the path of using your laptop and buying either a toucam or DMK camera (or something similar) to use with PHD or Guidedog etc.
Old 21-02-2008, 09:54 AM
rogerg (Roger)

If you're wanting to exclude the laptop from the mix, I think you're options include: