Go Back   IceInSpace > Images > Solar System
Register FAQ Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 13-05-2014, 11:25 AM
ozalba (Duncan)

April 15 lunar eclipse

A little late, perhaps, but what the heck.

I've never tried HDR imaging before, but it occurred to me that the partial phase of the eclipse would be a great application for the technique. I'd taken exposures of 1/2 at ISO-1000, 1/8 at 400 and 1/60 at 400, to cover the range of illumination present; if repeating this, I'd use more images, with no more than 2 stops between them.

The software didn't seem to like being asked to combine these three quite different images, so after cropping all three to the same FOV, I added a thin rectangle towards the edge of the frame to give the software something consistent to hang on to, and this seemed to work. (It's also possible that I hadn't got exactly the same cropping in my first attempt, which is what fooled the software, but being unfamiliar with the finer points of HDR, I can't be sure.)

Images taken with a Canon 40D, through an ancient and none-too-flash 6-inch Newtonian, undriven.
Attached Thumbnails
Click for full-size image (Lunar eclipse 2014-04-15 HDR IMG_1687+4 [40D RAW4] cropped+border +1681 [40D RAW4] cropped+borde.jpg)
126.8 KB107 views
Old 13-05-2014, 06:50 PM
Matt Wastell (Matt)
Look up, look good!

Hi Duncan
That is a great result - visually pleasing.
Old 13-05-2014, 07:38 PM
ozalba (Duncan)

Thanks Matt. I don't think I'm quite there yet, but it'll do for now
Old 14-05-2014, 12:57 AM
jonathandael

This is well-executed despite the challenges! Definitely a more realistic image than my somewhat overcooked lunar eclipse HDR a few years back. Excellent work!
Old 14-05-2014, 07:20 PM
ozalba (Duncan)