Go Back   IceInSpace > Equipment > ATM and DIY Projects

Thread Tools Rating: Thread Rating: 2 votes, 5.00 average.
Old 09-07-2014, 02:22 PM
vignesh1230 (Vignesh)

Talking Project Phyllix -DIY EQ mount

Project Phyllix - An EQ mount

Hey guys, I am a student at Nossal High School, currently in Year 11, and seeing as this is the first year we have had the subject Systems Engineering, Ive decided to create an equatorial mount for my Year 12 Systems Engineering project(2015) that we do for the whole year. I realise its a big undertaking but I think the finished product is going to be worth it and if it works well, should rack up some nice marks for the subject, and be a sweet mount to put in an observatory that I plan to build soon.

The primary design goals of this mount are

• Stability
  • Accuracy
  • Ease of Setup
  • Fit for Observatory Use for years to come
  • ASCOM friendly
  • Friendly Go-To Control Interface - If I have time, I may develop a hand controller.

Now, seeing as a friend of mine owns a machining company and I can get stuff machined cheaper than normal rates, I've decided to go for a 'fancy' telescope mount, and not simply 2 shafts held in with a plate and pillow blocks. Ill keep the design of the mount open source so if anyone wants to hop in and refine the design with their wisdom they can and/or make one themselves

So far I have gone through about 6 revisions of the design where i've just started from scratch again, and I think I'm getting close to a functional design. Having not actually seen or operated a Go-To equatorial mount physically (I have a small CG-3..), I have based most of my design off the White Swan 180, and WS 240, along with the Astro-Physics mount range.
At this stage, It is designed to be 100% made out of Aluminium T6-6061 except for the worm wheels and worm gear. Right now, the latest design is missing its base, DEC shaft and saddle, But as soon as I finish designing it, I shall post an image of it and the cross section.