Go Back   IceInSpace > Equipment > Astrophotography and Imaging Equipment and Discussions

Old 10-09-2015, 04:00 PM
marco (Marco Lorenzi)

The technique I use to blend in Ha and OIII on RGB images

Hi all, since many asked and as promised, below is the (pretty simple) technique I have been using since several years to blend in Ha and OIII narrow band data to my images.

1) I get all (L) RGB Ha and OIII fits images aligned and registered.
2) In Pixinsight (but any other software of your choice is fine) I assemble the RGB base from the individual R,G,B fits. I than fully process the RGB (color balance, DBE, non-linear stretching etc) paying attention the image is pleasant, with well saturated stars but not white clipped. As I am happy with the result I save the RGB image as 16 bits TIFF file.
3) If a Luminance image is available I process it in PI as well. Again I keep the contrast not too strong, if necessary I will increase it later on. Luminance is then also saved as 16 bits TIFF file.
4) I process the Ha and, if available, OIII fits. These narrow band channels must be processed carefully avoiding to clip the high lights (where the signal is stronger). Experience here dictates the right balance between contrast and detail visibility, so you will have to find your own way here. NB images are than saved in TIFF.

At this point most of the process in PI is done.
5) In PS I open the images, I copy and paste the luminance (if available) over the RGB base and change the blending mode to "luminosity". I then work on curves, levels saturation etc. until I am satisfied with the final result. Target is to have the LRGB completely processed as it is going to be published.