Old 25-06-2017, 07:44 PM
MitchLee (Mitchell)

Smile Newbie

Greetings all.

Just another newbie introduction - I'm Mitch from Newcastle NSW.

I've been doing photography for a few years now but just recently I've started into the world of astrophotography. Been doing some wide angle shots so far but I'm looking at getting into closer DSO and stellar shots. For that I'm going to need some more gear... so I'm looking at getting an EQ3 or EQ5, preferably with GOTO motors to make it easier for me.

So with that out there, I'll be lurking these forums for a second hand setup as I'm hoping they pop up on a pretty regular basis.

Cheers,
Mitch
Old 25-06-2017, 07:55 PM
that_guy (Tony)
Local Korean Millennial

I wouldn't go anything lighter than an HEQ5 for AP. Theres one listed in the classified for sale thats decent price in sydney if you're interested in that. Any ideas on what scope you want to put on the mount?
Old 26-06-2017, 07:05 AM
MitchLee (Mitchell)

So the EQ3 isn't sturdy/stable enough for AP?

I'm thinking of a cassegrain style tube at this point. There's an EQ5 GOTO mount with a 150x750 cassegrain on eBay right now for $1500 but it's in Melbourne. Postage would be $200 and I can't inspect it prior to purchase so I'm thinking it could be a gamble for me
Old 26-06-2017, 09:55 AM
Lognic04 (Logan)

AFAIK the eq3 is not sturdy enough, also i'm not sure if you can guide an EQ3. and i recommend you stay away from cassegrains as a beginner in AP! because the focal length is so long you have to guide, but you also have to use an oag which you need a very sensitive cam for. (more money!)
Old 26-06-2017, 10:59 AM
pfitzgerald (Paul)

Hi Mitchell - and welcome to IIS. :-)

I agree with Tony's advice. Don't purchase anything lighter than the HEQ5-Pro. If you have a permanent set up in mind it would be worth considering the EQ6.