#1  
Old 21-10-2009, 07:58 PM
Astrobserver99's Avatar
Astrobserver99 (Rob)
Starlit Night

Astrobserver99 is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Bellarine Peninsula, Victoria
Posts: 505
ToUCam 900NC and K3CDD

I have just purchased a 900nc to play around with. How do I unlock the camera settings to change exposure etc. in K3CDD? I bring up the exposure window, but all of seetings are locked in the default mode.

Cheers, Rob
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 21-10-2009, 08:06 PM
sheeny's Avatar
sheeny (Al)
Spam Hunter

sheeny is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Oberon NSW
Posts: 12,781
Rob,

I assume you have installed the drivers and software that came with the camera? The software probably doesn't matter but the drivers do.

You can't change any settings in K3 when K3 is in auto mode, so if there auto exposure check box is ticked, untick it and you should get control.

Al.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 21-10-2009, 08:17 PM
Astrobserver99's Avatar
Astrobserver99 (Rob)
Starlit Night

Astrobserver99 is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Bellarine Peninsula, Victoria
Posts: 505
The drivers are installed. I haven't installed the software as I plan on only using K3CDD. Do I need the software as well? I have K3 opened with Jupiter showing - way over exposed. Non of the auto checkboxes are ticked in the camera settings window. The sliders are still locked though.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 23-10-2009, 10:20 AM
Astrobserver99's Avatar
Astrobserver99 (Rob)
Starlit Night

Astrobserver99 is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Bellarine Peninsula, Victoria
Posts: 505
Switched to Vlounge for capture and Registax for stacking. Works without a hitch.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 23-10-2009, 01:45 PM
Clarry's Avatar
Clarry (Clayton)
"L" plater

Clarry is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Bonnet Bay Sydney
Posts: 223
Quote:
Originally Posted by Astrobserver99 View Post
Switched to Vlounge for capture and Registax for stacking. Works without a hitch.
Hey Rob, I also have just bought the TouCam & adapter for use with my Dob. Like you I have used Vlounge for capture, K3CDD is a bit confusing at this stage plus the key has expired & hasn't been updated on his website yet. I'd be interested to hear what setting you're using in Vlounge for best results.
While trying to capture the moon the other week, I discovered the FOV is way to small. I checked with Andrews Comm and a Focal Reducer is required if I want to capture the entire moon in the frame. Do you have the same problem?

Cheers, Clay.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 23-10-2009, 03:58 PM
Astrobserver99's Avatar
Astrobserver99 (Rob)
Starlit Night

Astrobserver99 is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Bellarine Peninsula, Victoria
Posts: 505
I'm still familiarizing myself with the ToUcam and Vlounge. Haven't used it on the Moon yet - only Jupiter. Set the exposure to about 1/2, gain 3/4 and 15 frames per second, auto white balance, the rest default settings. Probably still needs some tweaking. Just use what works for you.

From memory, a FR is usually required when shooting the moon with a webcam or CCD. A DSLR is a different story, however, you should be able to get the entire moon in the frame.

Cheers, Rob
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +10. The time is now 04:12 AM.

Powered by vBulletin Version 3.8.7 | Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Advertisement
Astromechanics
Advertisement
Testar
Advertisement
Lunatico Astronomical
Advertisement
Bintel
Advertisement
EQ8-R
Advertisement
Celestron RASA
Advertisement
Star Adventurer
Advertisement
Astronomy and Electronics Centre
Advertisement