ICEINSPACE
Most Read Articles
Moon Phase
CURRENT MOON Waxing Crescent
34.2%
The Sun Now
Time Zones
Sydney*
8:49 pm
Perth
5:49 pm
Auckland*
10:49 pm
New York
4:49 am
Paris
10:49 am
GMT
9:49 am




Go Back   IceInSpace > Images > Nightscapes

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1  
Old 29-12-2017, 09:45 PM
Garbz (Chris)
Registered User

Garbz is offline
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Brisbane
Posts: 636
Aurora from Finland

Finally some payoff for moving to Europe. No astronomy for the past 2+ years but while we're currently sitting right next to the arctic ocean the sky was an absolute dream.

KP index 1.3 and yet we still had a tremendous show.
Attached Thumbnails
Click for full-size image (DSC_4479.jpg)
202.3 KB108 views
Click for full-size image (DSC_4506.jpg)
139.3 KB99 views
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 30-12-2017, 12:42 AM
RobF's Avatar
RobF (Rob)
Mostly harmless...

RobF is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Posts: 5,275
Looks wonderful Chris. Thanks for sharing!
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 30-12-2017, 08:50 AM
Premordial (Max)
Pale green dot

Premordial is offline
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: NSW
Posts: 25
A stunning sight Chris! Was the aurora visible to naked eyes?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 30-12-2017, 10:53 AM
peter_4059's Avatar
peter_4059 (Peter)
Big Scopes are Cool

peter_4059 is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Brisbane
Posts: 3,785
Looks beautiful. Nice shot Chris.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-01-2018, 08:29 PM
Ross G
Registered User

Ross G is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Cherrybrook, NSW
Posts: 4,856
Beautiful photos Chris!

Thank you.
Ross.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-01-2018, 01:22 AM
fsr
Registered User

fsr is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Hurlingham, Buenos Aires
Posts: 17
Very good photos!!
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 03-01-2018, 08:45 PM
RickS's Avatar
RickS (Rick)
PI cult recruiter

RickS is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Brisbane
Posts: 9,013
Nice shots, Chris, but not much for 2+ years
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 05-01-2018, 05:44 AM
Garbz (Chris)
Registered User

Garbz is offline
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Brisbane
Posts: 636
Thanks guys, sorry for slow reply, not much internet access up in the arctic. Reminded me of astrofest. Same accommodation too, except more snowmobiles, colder weather and annoying green light pollution

Quote:
Originally Posted by Premordial View Post
A stunning sight Chris! Was the aurora visible to naked eyes?
Yeah it was. 4 nights we saw it visibly. The pictures I posted were from particularly bright nights where it was bright enough to see in colour. KP was only 1.3

I'm conflicted, on the one side I wish it were new moon so the aurora was more visible, but on the other side the full moon really helped offset the complete lack of sun. In all the snow we were able to navigate no problem without lights through the forest.

Quote:
Originally Posted by RickS View Post
Nice shots, Chris, but not much for 2+ years
Next year I'll post a third picture
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 11-01-2018, 08:40 AM
gregbradley's Avatar
gregbradley
Registered User

gregbradley is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Sydney
Posts: 14,116
Fantastic and something I want to see in the near future.

Greg.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +10. The time is now 07:49 PM.

Powered by vBulletin Version 3.8.7 | Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Advertisement
OzScopes Authorised Dealer
Advertisement
NexDome Observatories
Advertisement
Bintel
Advertisement
SkyWatcher 2018 Catalogue
Advertisement
Lunatico Astronomical
Advertisement
Atik 16200
Advertisement
FLI Cameras and Imaging Accessories
Advertisement
SkyWatcher WiFi Adaptor
Advertisement
SkyWatcher Esprit
Advertisement
Astronomy and Electronics Centre
Advertisement