Old 30-08-2017, 08:25 AM
Imme (Jon)

Guidance on guiding please!

I'm new to guiding....as in completely new to it and am having trouble getting everything working together.

First of all the equipment/program list -
Eq5pro mount with synscan
Zwo As1034mc guide camera
Eqmod, phd and apt for guide/control programs
750/150 refractor as imaging scope/small 300 refractor as guide scope.

I'm connected to the pc through the synscan hand piece and can control the scope via eqmod in direct pc mode.......but when I try and connect through apt I get a "scope not connected" error, camera does connect (but I get no image). I have had it connected a couple of times (1 in 50 attempts randomly) but no idea why it won't do it on a regular/reliable basis. I think (and don't quote me one this) that when taking it out of direct pc mode on synscan it helps with the connection......but then I lose guiding don't I?
No matter what settings I'm playing with I can seem to get it to recognise the scope.

Any ideas anyone?
Is there something I'm missing?

Im praying to the guiding gods on this one (and you know who you are).....any advice would be greatly appreciated.
Old 30-08-2017, 08:35 AM
glend (Glen)

For what its worth EQMOD connection used to drive me crazy, running my NEQ6 Pro. I tossed it out and moved to wifi connection with a Nexus box to Sky Safari Pro, much easier. I ran SGP for imaging camera control (ASI1600), and Backyard EOS for my DSLR. I ran Metaguide as the guide app, and Backyard EOS handled the dithering.
What i am saying is that you don't have to use eqmod.
Old 30-08-2017, 09:57 AM
Imme (Jon)

Thanks Glenn......guess I'm hoping for a 'cheap fix'.....if there is one is hobby!
Worse case I guess I can make the move to another system but I'd rather stick with what I have if I can.....guess the other side of it is the guy I bought this setup from claims it worked with these programs.....grrrr
Old 30-08-2017, 11:07 AM
hamiland (Anders)

Hi Jon,