Go Back   IceInSpace > Equipment > Astrophotography and Imaging Equipment and Discussions

Old 13-05-2008, 07:36 PM
Ian Robinson

A couple of dumb questions from a 35mm dinosaur who will have a 40D next week.

OK...

I was told my 40D with my chosen two lenses and other bnps will be coming next week ....

I am new to this digital photography thing , 3 questions :

Dark frames : do I do these with a 40D ?

Light and flat frames : what are these , what do they do and how do I do them with a 40D ?

Good digital editing application that is freeware (or comes as a full feature try it out version ....) what do you guys recommend ?
Old 13-05-2008, 07:44 PM
skwinty (Steve)
E pur si muove

Hi Ian
Darks are exposures with the lens cap on. These should be as long as the exposures you take. This allows you to get a baseline of noisse generated by the camera.
2, Lights are the actual exposures you make to get a picture.
3. Flats are exposures of an evenly illuminated screen , light box or dusk or twilight sky.These enable you to get rid of vignetting and dust donuts etc.

I found that AIP4WIN at USD100 was good value for money as you get a 700 page hard cover text book on astronomical imaging plus the processing software. The text alone IMO is worth the money as it explains all the nitty gritty of calibration and operation of CCD and DSLR cameras.
Old 13-05-2008, 07:49 PM
JohnG (John)
Looking Down From Above

Hi

There is an article in the Projects and Articles section you might want to read:

http://www.iceinspace.com.au/index.p...63,211,0,0,1,0

Cheers

JohnG
Old 13-05-2008, 08:03 PM
Dennis
Dazzled by the Cosmos.

Hi Ian

Just adding to what Steve has written, for darks in particular, I would recommend starting off the “easy” way; let the 40D do the Dark Frames automatically for you, in-camera.

The 40D has several “Custom Function” settings where you can tailor the 40D to how you want to operate.