ICEINSPACE
Most Read Articles
Moon Phase
CURRENT MOON Waxing Crescent
4.2%
The Sun Now
Time Zones
Sydney*
2:32 am
Perth
11:32 pm
Auckland*
4:32 am
New York
10:32 am
Paris
4:32 pm
GMT
3:32 pm




  #1  
Old 15-11-2017, 07:27 AM
jenchris's Avatar
jenchris (Jennifer)
Registered User

jenchris is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Ormeau Gold Coast
Posts: 1,988
300mm kit lens guidescope.

Last night I used my canon kit lens on full 300 zoom as a guide scope.
Not only was it successful, it was bloody amazing giving me sub .25 second guiding.
I attached my ssag camera to the back by carefully cutting out a 1.25 hole in the back lens cover and using some resin glue to attach an old nose.
Talk about cheapskate.....lol
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 15-11-2017, 10:03 AM
ZeroID's Avatar
ZeroID (Brent)
Lost in Space ....

ZeroID is offline
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Auckland, NZ
Posts: 4,582
Good one, Jen. Nothing like a bit of DIY to save a few $$ that can be better spent on other equipment.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 15-11-2017, 10:24 AM
bojan's Avatar
bojan
amateur

bojan is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Mt Waverley, VIC
Posts: 4,964


I have couple of old (film, M42) lenses (200 ~ 500mm) that I tried to use for guiding earlier, and they performed OK for the purpose.

The reason I still do not use guiding is mainly my laziness (?) - setup is a waste of time and effort for me, so I will use them when my dome is built (so setup can stay in place for good).
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 15-11-2017, 01:47 PM
jenchris's Avatar
jenchris (Jennifer)
Registered User

jenchris is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Ormeau Gold Coast
Posts: 1,988
Yeah bojan. Mine's set up pretty much permanently.
I just take my laptop and 70d down and connect and turn on.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 15-11-2017, 05:11 PM
Regulus's Avatar
Regulus (Trevor)
Regulus - Couer de Leon

Regulus is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Devonport, Tasmania
Posts: 2,196
A good use for a kit lens Jen. That 70-300 cheapie they throw in as a kit really has no use, unless you are looking to fill a place in your camera bag.
Glad it worked so well.
Trev
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +10. The time is now 01:32 AM.

Powered by vBulletin Version 3.8.7 | Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Advertisement
OzScopes Authorised Dealer
Advertisement
Meade Instruments
Advertisement
Lunatico Astronomical
Advertisement
SkyWatcher Star Discovery
Advertisement
Atik 16200
Advertisement
NexDome Observatories
Advertisement
FLI Cameras and Imaging Accessories
Advertisement
Tasco Australia
Advertisement
Bintel
Advertisement
Astronomy and Electronics Centre
Advertisement