Go Back   IceInSpace > Equipment > Equipment Discussions
Register FAQ Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 11-10-2016, 03:46 PM
Stardrifter_WA
Life is looking up!

Moonlite.

A tale of woe, with a happy ending, and with a warning thrown in for good measure.

I don’t say much on here these days, but I think this is a story worth telling, as it may prevent a repeat of this problem.

I have a William Optics 110mmFLT and ever since I first purchased it I had nothing but trouble with the focuser. It didn't matter how I adjusted it; it would not hold the weight of my 2" eyepieces, let alone my camera. After some attempts to get Williams Optics to replace this focuser, with a rack and pinion focuser I finally decided to pull it apart to find out what was going on. As a machinist by trade, I was astonished by the construction of this focuser, a shiny metal rod against bare metal, no wonder it kept sliding out.

At first, William Optics, advised me to return the focuser to them for adjustment, they probably would have replaced it, but at my cost for freight. They also advised that many people who buy their scopes just replace them with a Feathertouch. They also offered to sell me a new WO R&P focuser, which I think they should have replaced since they knew there were problems with the focuser on this scope. However, fair is fair, I did leave it a while before doing anything about it, as I have been too busy with uni to use it in the past year, and I did get it cheap in any case.

A Feathertouch focuser was too expensive to consider, so I decided to go for the Moonlite focuser, as a Moonlite was on my mind in any case. On opening the box, when it arrived, I said, “damn this is big,” not my actually words mind you. What a magnificent piece of engineering. You could say I was somewhat impressed until I went to fit it to my scope tube. Oops, the internal thread on the focuser is too large, so it doesn’t screw on.