Go Back   IceInSpace > Beginners Start Here > Beginners Talk
Register FAQ Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 28-04-2008, 12:35 PM
crazzyroo

Distance Help

Hi everyone,

I am pretty new to astronomy and having some real problems working out distances and where to find things. I have many maps and books (the links from this site are great) but still find it rather hard.
I can find the planets easy enough and have explored Orion but other than that I'm at a loss. The major constellations are not too much of a bother for me either, Crux, Leo etc.
To try and quantify what I mean a little better, on the free skymap it has Eta Carinae aprox 2cm above the Crux. Ok I can find the crux but whenever I travel in the rough direction towards the nebula I get lost :-(
Simply put, I don't know how to move what’s on the page in front of me to the sky above me.
Any and all help would be appreciated

Cheers

Nick
Old 28-04-2008, 12:47 PM
prova

Hi Nick

If your having trouble with maps and books, try some software for your PC.
There are alot of different types out there but you could try Stellarium as it's pretty good and free

http://www.stellarium.org/

Give it a go!
Old 28-04-2008, 01:37 PM
programmer
Computer tragic

Try holding the skymap above your head. Even Stellarium, et al, don't look 'right' as you get closer to zenith. Unfortunately I gave in and bought some electronic help due to bright suburban skies...
Old 28-04-2008, 02:01 PM
renormalised (Carl)
No More Infinities

Talking

Hi Nick

Try to orient your sky map with what you see up in the sky. Looking for eta, just orient your map to how the Cross looks in the sky. You'll notice that eta Carina is off to the west of Crux by about 10-20 degrees. You can see it as a bright patch looking like a pale cloud. Don't look directly at it, use averted vision (i.e. look at it sideways), it's easier to see that way.