Go Back   IceInSpace > Beginners Start Here > Beginners Talk
Register FAQ Calendar Today's Posts Search

Thread Tools Rating: Thread Rating: 3 votes, 3.33 average.
Old 29-05-2017, 03:06 PM
cadman342001 (Andy)

So far / How to increase sub times?

Had some dark clear nights last week coinciding with the new moon so
I've had an opportunity to set up the SW Star Adventurer on the drive.

I should first of all point out that I have no knowledge of the night sky and previous attempts at photographing it have been 14mm views / stitches of the Milky Way.

Night 1.

Polar alignment being done by my Polemaster, even finding the SCP and sigma Octantis took me about 30 mins ! I had the rig pointing roughly south (compass) and set the lat/dec with the wedge adjustment (16 degrees here in Cairns). Ended up with Stellarium open (in night view), looking through bins, looking at Stellarium just trying to find octans, using the Snipping Tool in Win 10 to get a screen shot from the live view from the Polemaster software and plate solving with All Sky Plate Solver.
This usually showed the grid and therefore the location of the SCP.
I also turned on the marker for SCP in stellarium.

Once I found octans it was easy to use the polemaster software to do my PA although 1st night the SCP was in the midst of a load of dead tree branches of dead tree next door and then when I subsequently moved the rig I could only see half of octans above the roof line of the house ! enough to do the PA though as sig Oct was visible.
The joys of living so far north I suppose.

Nights 2 onwards

Enjoying practicing hopping my way around the night sky with the bins, checking against stellarium, looking for DSOs etc. in stellarium and then trying to locate them / nearby stars in the sky.