Go Back   IceInSpace > Beginners Start Here > Beginners Talk

Old 25-10-2016, 01:38 PM
Killa (Shannon)

Rural noob with great views

Hi all, Im a noob, yes, another one. .. lol
I've been trying to read the beginners stuff on here but it really goes over my head,
I've been using the national geographic table top telescope which has been fantastic as far as I can tell, I've been able to see Jupiter and it's moons, a few clusters and nebulae,

I really want to upgrade to 8 inch dobson,I like the stablity the table top one gives me, I'm a bit nervous about the purchase though. Where do I store it? I keep the table top one in the cupboard but this new one is too big for that, and I'd like to purchase filters too perhaps just the small kit with the blue and red filters along with a couple of extra eye pieces. .

If I store the telescope inside should I cover it with material? So dirt and dust doesnt get everywhere?

And do you think I'd get $800 worth of viewing from it? Can we put a price on viewing ability?

So far the pleiades are great viewing on the table top, I adore the nebula in orion. I'd like to see more hence the upgrade.

What do you seasoned viewers think?
Old 25-10-2016, 03:48 PM
gaseous (Patrick)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Killa View Post
Hi all, Im a noob, yes, another one. .. lol
I've been trying to read the beginners stuff on here but it really goes over my head,
I've been using the national geographic table top telescope which has been fantastic as far as I can tell, I've been able to see Jupiter and it's moons, a few clusters and nebulae,

I really want to upgrade to 8 inch dobson,I like the stablity the table top one gives me, I'm a bit nervous about the purchase though. Where do I store it? I keep the table top one in the cupboard but this new one is too big for that, and I'd like to purchase filters too perhaps just the small kit with the blue and red filters along with a couple of extra eye pieces. .