Go Back   IceInSpace > Beginners Start Here > Beginners Talk
Register FAQ Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 05-01-2016, 06:50 PM
PBRStreetgang (Christian)

Hello, new into this Hobby.

Hello lads (and lasses) my name is Christian. I have been a professional soldier for 29 years which means a lot of moving. However I have just moved to my dream home in Picton, NSW where I will settle permanently.

I have always loved Astronomy in a amateur sort of way and as a Birthday Gift my lady is going to buy me a telescope.

So we are off to Glebe tomorrow to visit BINTEL to buy a Telescope. So I am starting introductions before I even have the means to look at the night sky.

A couple of quick questions if you please:

I had a wonderful discussion on the phone with a rather patient and very helpful fellow by the name of MICK at BINTEL. Going by that conversation it seems BINTEL is a great place to buy a telescope. So I am hoping one of the experienced lads here on the forum can confirm my assumption.

Secondly is there anyone who lives in the PICTON area? I guess some personal help and hints would be appreciated.

I am told its an obsessive Hobby, which is fine (its not my first ),...I just hope I can catch the bug. This forum is a tad beyond me at this stage, but I am looking forward to contributing.

Some of the photography from the members here are fantastic and I have only just touched the forum.

The bug bites quick, doesnt it???

Any other basic hints to start will always be appreciated.
Old 05-01-2016, 07:32 PM
Somnium (Aidan)
Aidan

Welcome Christian. the guys at Bintel are great, they will treat you well. the only thing is make sure you have a clear understanding of what you want to achieve or do in this hobby;
observing
planetary imaging
deep sky imaging
are you going to have to set up and tear down each night ?
how much do you want to get into the technical nuts and bolts
understanding this will be the key to making sure you get the right scope first time