ICEINSPACE
Most Read Articles
Moon Phase
CURRENT MOON Waxing Crescent
21.9%
The Sun Now
Time Zones
Sydney*
1:29 am
Perth
10:29 pm
Auckland*
3:29 am
New York
9:29 am
Paris
3:29 pm
GMT
2:29 pm




  #1  
Old 25-08-2006, 07:08 AM
iceman's Avatar
iceman (Mike)
Sir Post a Lot!

iceman is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Gosford, NSW, Australia
Posts: 36,683
Arrow Guidelines for Observation Reports Forum

Hi all

Welcome to the Observation Reports forum.

This forum is for posting:
- Observation Reports, notes
- Sketches
- Links to images (that are posted in the deep space imaging forum)

There will be one thread for each object, with the title of the thread in the format:

<object number> - (object name) - <object type>

Where object type is:
GX - Galaxy
NB - Nebula
OC - Open Cluster
GC - Globular Cluster
PN - Planetary Nebula
DB - Double star

Some examples:
M17 - Swan Nebula - NB
NGC104 - 47Tuc - GC
and so on.

This way, people can search for the object by name or number or type.

All reports for that object should go under that thread, so they're kept together.

Your observation reports can be as detailed as you like. Some suggestions of things to note include:
- Scope/EP, magnification, filters used
- Seeing/Transparency/Wind
- Moon phase
- Altitude, Magnitude, Constellation
- Description of what you saw
- Sketch

! You may like to look at the IceInSpace Observing Log Template for filling in your notes out in the field, and then either scanning or re-entering the information for your observing report.

I'll be instructing moderators to edit thread titles that don't fit the guidelines (so it's consistent), and also to delete any obvious spam (some chatter is ok but it may be cleaned up from time to time).

Thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 25-08-2006, 08:34 AM
glenc's Avatar
glenc (Glen)
star-hopper

glenc is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Terranora
Posts: 4,059
A good idea Mike.
I would like to request that NGC or IC numbers be given before Caldwell numbers.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 25-08-2006, 09:20 AM
iceman's Avatar
iceman (Mike)
Sir Post a Lot!

iceman is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Gosford, NSW, Australia
Posts: 36,683
I'd agree with that too, Glen.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +10. The time is now 12:29 AM.

Powered by vBulletin Version 3.8.7 | Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Advertisement
Bintel
Advertisement
Atik 16200
Advertisement
Lunatico Astronomical
Advertisement
OzScopes Authorised Dealer
Advertisement
NexDome Observatories
Advertisement
SkyWatcher Star Discovery
Advertisement
FLI Cameras and Imaging Accessories
Advertisement
Tasco Australia
Advertisement
Meade Instruments
Advertisement
Astronomy and Electronics Centre
Advertisement